Tashweesh festival
Expo Listening Through The Cracks

expo

Expo Listening Through The Cracks

today
expo
28 SEP — 16 DEC

Imagine multiple voices coming together in the unintelligible murmur of a crowd. w/ Ghita Skali, Basma al-Sharif, Golnesa Rezanezhad

The exhibition zooms in and out of an unruly gathering of voices, imagining what some of those confabulations might sound like. There is some gossip, rumors are circulating, traveling through time and space. We move through fiction-telling and coded patterns, voices that shape (other) narratives while questioning the frame of proverbial tales, imaginaries, myths and memories. The ground is shaking beneath the multitude, opening up cracks through which testimonies are distorted, memories are glitched, myths are re-written. Listening through the cracks is an invitation to imagine different relations to time, embodying multifaceted future tenses and delving into the rhythms of an unwritten story.

 

Born in Casablanca, Ghita Skali studied at Villa Arson in Nice (France) and attended the post-graduate programs of the Fine Arts academy in Lyon in 2016 and De Ateliers in Amsterdam from 2018 until 2020. Ghita Skali’s work takes as an initial impulse investigations around anecdotes which appeared in the media and have been later forgotten and / or erased. For example: the construction of an Eiffel Tower in Fez in Morocco, the imprisonment of a spy duck in Cairo, a suspicious cardiological device invented by the king Hassan II, the donkey tails of Rita McBride's sculpture stolen by the inhabitants of Monchengladbach in Germany or the declaration in 2014, of an Egyptian general of the Army pretending he invented a miraculous machine curing Aids. These intrigues and anecdotes left only fleeting traces but they reveal power relations based on mythologies, the reification of fictions and assumptions. They manifest many systems of belief and authority but also irony. Ghita Skali borrows among others the codes of the street interview, the conference, the documentary, the guided tour or the medical congress. In her approach, it is less a question of truth of the anecdote than to map out all the possible ramifications of this narration, the contradictions and dead ends of the many rumors that made it.
https://www.ghitaskali.com
https://www.instagram.com/ghita_skali

Working nomadically between the Middle East, Europe, and North America, and currently based in Berlin, Basma al-Sharif - an artist and filmmaker of Palestinian heritage - explores cyclical political histories and conflicts. In films and installations that move backward and forward in history, between place and nonplace, she confronts the legacy of colonialism and the experience of displacement with satire, doubt, and hope.
https://imanefares.com/artistes/basma-al-sharif

Golnesa Rezanezhad is a visual artist and researcher based in Ghent. She works with various artistic mediums like drawing, painting, photography, and textile. She works through craftwork, mainly the one practiced by women, to look into women’s choices, everyday performances, and belongings. In recent years she has conducted a research practice in northern Iran with women rug weavers. Since rug and carpet weaving in Iran has been the main export of the country for a long time, especially in the pre-oil economy,  understanding the practice and imaginations around rug weavers is a way for her to challenge the many misrepresentations about them and their craft. Golnesa has presented her research and artistic practice in various international academic and art institutes including Iran, the USA, Belgium, the UK, Austria and Portugal, among other places.
https://cargocollective.com/golnesarezanezhad

Tashweesh festival
Listening Through The Cracks

expo

Listening Through The Cracks

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL expo
WE 28.09 17:00 - 23:00
TH 29.09 17:00 - 23:00
FR 30.09 17:00 - 23:00
SA 01.10 17:00 - 23:00
TU 04.10 17:00 - 23:00
WE 05.10 17:00 - 23:00
TH 06.10 17:00 - 23:00
FR 07.10 17:00 - 23:00
SA 08.10 17:00 - 23:00
TH 13.10 13:00 - 17:00
FR 14.10 13:00 - 17:00
SA 15.10 13:00 - 18:00
WE 19.10 13:00 - 17:00
TH 20.10 13:00 - 17:00
FR 21.10 13:00 - 17:00
SA 22.10 13:00 - 18:00
WE 26.10 13:00 - 17:00
TH 27.10 13:00 - 17:00
FR 28.10 13:00 - 17:00
SA 29.10 13:00 - 18:00
WE 02.11 13:00 - 17:00
TH 03.11 13:00 - 17:00
FR 04.11 13:00 - 17:00
SA 05.11 13:00 - 18:00
WE 09.11 13:00 - 17:00
TH 10.11 13:00 - 17:00
SA 12.11 13:00 - 18:00
WE 16.11 13:00 - 17:00
TH 17.11 13:00 - 17:00
FR 18.11 13:00 - 17:00
SA 19.11 13:00 - 18:00
WE 23.11 13:00 - 17:00
FR 25.11 13:00 - 17:00
SA 26.11 13:00 - 18:00
WE 30.11 13:00 - 17:00
TH 01.12 13:00 - 17:00
FR 02.12 13:00 - 17:00
SA 03.12 13:00 - 17:00
WE 07.12 13:00 - 17:00
TH 08.12 13:00 - 17:00
FR 09.12 13:00 - 17:00
SA 10.12 13:00 - 18:00
WE 14.12 13:00 - 17:00
TH 15.12 13:00 - 17:00
FR 16.12 13:00 - 17:00

Des voix multiples s'unissent dans le murmure inintelligible d'une foule. w/ Ghita Skali, Basma al-Sharif, Golnesa Rezanezhad

 

Naviguant un rassemblement indiscipliné de voix, l’exposition  prête l’oreille à certaines des anecdotes et confabulations qui s’y racontent. On y entend des récits variés et des rumeurs  circulant dans le temps et l'espace. On se déplace à travers des récits de fiction et des langages codés , des voix  façonnant d'autres récits tout en interrogeant les cadres bâtis dans les   narrations proverbiales, les imaginaires et les   mythes. Le sol tremble sous la multitude, révélant des fissures à travers lesquelles les témoignages sont déformés, les souvenirs glitchés, les mythes réécrits. Listening through the cracks est une invitation à imaginer d'autres rapports au temps, à conjuguer le futur au pluriel, et à plonger dans les rythmes d'un récit en cours d'écriture.

Basma al-Sharif est une artiste palestinienne qui grandit entre la France, les États-Unis et la bande de Gaza. Après avoir développé sa pratique de manière nomade, elle est actuellement basée à Berlin. Son travail explore l'héritage du colonialisme à travers la parodie, le doute et l'espoir en alliant le cinéma et l'installation. Ses principales expositions comprennent : The Ruttenberg Contemporary Photography Series pour le Museum of the Art Institute of Chicago, Modern Mondays au MOMA, CCA Glasgow, la Biennale du Whitney, les Rencontres d'Arles, les Modules au Palais de Tokyo, Here and Elsewhere au New Museum, Al Riwaq Biennial Palestine, le Forum du documentaire de Berlin, la Biennale de Sharjah, Videobrasil et Manifesta 8, et ses films ont participé à des festivals internationaux à Locarno, à la Berlinale, au Festival du film de Milan, au TIFF, au Festival du film BFI de Londres, au NYFF, au RIDM et à Yamagata. Basma est représentée par la Galerie Imane Farés à Paris, et distribuée par Video Data Bank et Arsenal.
https://imanefares.com/artistes/basma-al-sharif

Née à Casablanca, Ghita Skali a étudié à la Villa Arson à Nice  et a suivi les programmes post-universitaires à l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Lyon en 2016 et à De Ateliers à Amsterdam de 2018 à 2020. Son travail prend comme impulsion initiale des enquêtes autour d'anecdotes médiatiques sombrées dans l'oubli. Par exemple : la construction d'une Tour Eiffel à Fès au Maroc, l'emprisonnement d'un canard espion au Caire, un appareil cardiologique suspect inventé par le roi Hassan II, les queues d'âne de la sculpture de Rita McBride volées par les habitants de Mönchengladbach en Allemagne ou la déclaration en 2014 d'un général de l'armée égyptienne prétendant avoir inventé une machine miraculeuse pour guérir le Sida. Ces intrigues et anecdotes n'ont laissé que des traces fugaces mais elles révèlent des relations de pouvoir basées sur des mythologies, la réification de fictions et de suppositions. Elles mobilisent une multitude de systèmes de croyance et d'autorité, mais aussi d’ ’ironie. Ghita Skali emprunte les codes du micro-trottoir, de la conférence, du documentaire, de la visite guidée ou du congrès médical. Dans son approche, il s'agit moins d'établir la véracité de l'anecdote que de cartographier toutes les ramifications possibles de cette narration, les contradictions et les impasses des rumeurs qui l'ont forgée. Ses projets ont récemment été présentés à Été 78 (Bruxelles), au Project Space Festival (Berlin), à la Beirut Art Fair, à Triangle (Marseille), au 18 (Marrakech), au Cube Independent Art Space (Rabat), au Cairo Off Biennale, au Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam), à la Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo (Turin) et au Palais de Tokyo (Paris).
https://www.ghitaskali.com
https://www.instagram.com/ghita_skali

Golnesa Rezanezhad est une artiste visuelle et chercheuse basée à Gand. Elle travaille avec différents médiums artistiques comme le dessin, la peinture, la photographie et le textile. À travers l'artisanat, essentiellement pratiqué par les femmes, elle s'intéresse à leurs choix, à leurs performances quotidiennes et à leurs biens. Ces dernières années, elle a mené une recherche dans le nord de l'Iran avec des tisserandes. Étant donné que le tissage de tapis en Iran a longtemps été la principale exportation du pays, surtout dans l'économie pré-pétrolière, comprendre la pratique et l'imaginaire autour des tisserandes est un moyen pour elle de contester les nombreuses représentations erronées dont elles font l'objet. Golnesa a présenté ses recherches et sa pratique artistique dans divers instituts universitaires et artistiques internationaux, notamment en Iran, aux États-Unis, en Belgique, au Royaume-Uni, en Autriche et au Portugal.
https://cargocollective.com/golnesarezanezhad