Tashweesh festival
Radical Body Politics

conversations

Radical Body Politics

today
TASHWEESH FESTIVAL talk
TU 04.10 19:00

Feminist, queer and crip alliances. With Shahin Mohammad and Josefien Cornette.

in English, w/ French-Belgian sign language

hosted by Nadia Kara

A sign language guide and storyteller, Shahin Mohammad considers herself as an intersectional feminist activist: it is through this prism that she fights against racism, sexism, audism and social discrimination, "for true equality". A constant struggle for this handifeminist, decolonial, anti-racist and environmentalist activist who is committed to a strong political commitment.

Josefien Cornette (they/she) is a multidisciplinary artist and writer, with a background in art-history, feminism and queer studies and disability studies. Josefien was editor at rekto:verso, where she co-ordinated the CRIP-issue, collaborates with Engagement Arts and is building a grassroots movement of crip artists in Belgium. Currently Josefien focuses on narrativity and testimony as an art object.  In 2021, Josefien won the DiverGent Thesis Prize with "A House Called Pain," a poetic autoethnography about death, mourning, and disability, soon to be published as a novel.

Born in Liege from an Algerian father and a German-Belgian mother, Nadia Kara grew up surrounded by a mix of cultures and influences. Observing the world, seeking her place throughout her youth, she developed an urge to understand people and create ways to connect with them. After studying media and communication, the multifaceted young woman relocated to Flanders, where she gained new perspectives on the dynamics of her homeland - the good, the bad and the ugly. Constantly questioning and educating herself, Nadia developed a talent for opening up constructive dialogue about serious matters, and currently works as a writer, podcaster and host. Her favourite subjects to talk about include mental health, feminism, diversity and sustainability, which she always treats with a personal and vulnerable approach.
https://www.instagram.com/nadiakara/

You might also like:

Tashweesh festival
Radical Body Politics

conversations

Radical Body Politics

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL conversation
TU 04.10 19:00

avec Shahin Mohammad et Josefien Cornette

en anglais, avec langue des signes de Belgique francophone

moderé par Nadia Kara

Guide et conteuse en langue des signes, Shahin Mohammad se considère comme militante féministe intersectionnelle : c’est par ce prisme qu’elle se bat contre le racisme, le  sexisme, l’audisme et la discrimination sociale, « pour l’équité, la vraie ». Un combat de tous les instants pour cette militante handiféministe, décoloniale, antiraciste et écologiste qui passe par un engagement politique fort

Josefien Cornette (iel) est un·e artiste multidisciplinaire et écrivain·e, avec une formation en histoire de l'art, en études féministes et queer et en études sur le handicap. Josefien a travaillé chez rekto:verso, où iel a coordonné le numéro CRIP. En collaboration avec Engagement Arts, iel construit un réseau d'artistes crip en Belgique. Actuellement, Josefien se concentre sur la narrativité et le témoignage en tant qu'objet artistique.  En 2021, iel a remporté le DiverGent Thesis Prize avec A House Called Pain, une auto-ethnographie poétique sur la mort, le deuil et le handicap, bientôt publiée sous forme de roman.

Née à Liège d'un père algérien et d'une mère germano-belge, Nadia Kara a grandi entourée d'un mélange de cultures et d'influences. Observatrice cherchant sa place tout au long de sa jeunesse, elle a développé une envie de comprendre les gens et de créer des moyens de se connecter avec eux. Après avoir étudié les médias et la communication, la jeune femme aux multiples facettes s'installe en Flandre, où elle acquiert de nouvelles perspectives sur la dynamique de son pays natal - the good, the bad and the ugly. Au fil des remises en question et des enseignements, Nadia développe un talent pour aborder des sujets sérieux dans des dialogues constructifs, ce qui l'amène à travailler en tant qu'écrivaine, podcasteuse et animatrice. Ses sujets de prédilection sont la santé mentale, le féminisme, la diversité et le développement durable, qu'elle traite toujours avec une vulnérabilité toute personnelle.
https://www.instagram.com/nadiakara/