Samah Hijawi Chasing Za’atar
dinner performance
WE 29.09 19:00
TH 30.09 19:00

Chasing Za’atar is a performance with food that expands on Samah’s research residency earlier this year at Beursschouwburg, which focused on the origins of Za’atar—a staple in the Levantine kitchen. In this new work, Samah performs a meal that weaves the multifarious histories and contemporary stories of the seeds, herbs, and spices that make up Za’atar. The performance creates an intimate encounter with what provides us with sustenance and brings so much joy and conviviality to our lives.

In English
Approx. 2,5 hours

This performance will include food and drinks. Regulations for safety will be strictly followed.

WHO?
Samah Hijawi is an artist and researcher currently doing her PhD in Art Practice at ULB and the Academie Royale Des Beaux Arts de Bruxelles, Belgium. Her latest multimedia works include: Aesthetics of the Political, a project that focuses on the form of political resistance in artworks that engage with political critique. And Kitchen. Table. a research on the movement of food-making practices over time and across geographies. Her works have been shown in The Royal Museum of Fine Arts Brussels, Museum M, The Hayward Gallery in London, BOZAR and Beursschouwburg in Brussels, MoMa and Apex Art - New York; Darat al Funun - Amman, among others.
instagram.com/hijawisamah
samahhijawi.com

The performance is part of a larger research trajectory titled Kitchen.Table. which is supported by Beursschouwburg, A.M. Qattan Foundation Palestine and Vooruit, and funded by the Flemish Community in Belgium.

Samah Hijawi Chasing Za’atar
dinner performance
WE 29.09 19:00
TH 30.09 19:00

Chasing Za'atar est une performance gastronomique qui s'inscrit dans le prolongement de la résidence de recherche réalisée par Samah au Beursschouwburg en début d'année. Celle-ci portait sur les origines du Za'atar, un aliment de référence dans la cuisine levantine. Dans cette nouvelle œuvre, Samah propose un repas qui tisse les histoires multiples avec les récits contemporains des graines, des herbes et des épices qui composent le Za'atar. La performance crée une rencontre intime avec les choses qui nous nourrissent, tout en procurant de la joie et de la convivialité à nos vies. 

En anglais
2,5 heures

Cette performance comprendra de la nourriture et des boissons. Les règles de sûreté seront respectées. 

QUI?
Samah Hijawi est une artiste et chercheuse en doctorat en Pratiques Artistiques à l'ULB et à l'Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles. Ses dernières œuvres multimédias comprennent : Aesthetics of the Political, un projet qui se concentre sur la résistance politique dans les œuvres d'art qui s'engagent dans la critique politique ; et Kitchen.Table, une recherche sur le mouvement des pratiques de fabrication de nourriture au fil du temps et des géographies. Ses œuvres ont été exposées au Musée Royal des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles, au Museum M, à la Hayward Gallery de Londres, au BOZAR et au Beursschouwburg à Bruxelles, au MoMa et à Apex Art à New York, ainsi qu'au Darat al Funun d'Amman, entre autres.
instagram.com/hijawisamah
samahhijawi.com

Cette performance fait partie de la trajectoire de recherche plus large intitulée Kitchen.Table. soutenue par Beursschouwburg, A.M. Qattan Foundation Palestine, Vooruit et financée par la Communauté flamande de Belgique.