The Surplus Talk
talk
WE 09.06 19:30

In the frame of the exhibition Chapter 4: Sold, Ève Chabanon, Peggy Pierrot and Rosanna Puyol delve into some of the issues underlying ‘The Surplus of the Non-producer’, marginalised labour, collective work and… commons.

Moderated by Sofia Dati, visual arts programmer at Beursschouwburg

In French

Reserve your spot and get a table for 4 (or just for you)

doors 18:30
starts 19:30

BIO

Ève Chabanon lives and works in Brussels. She graduated from the Haute École des Arts du Rhin (HEAR) in Strasbourg in 2013, before taking a Masters in Curating at the Sorbonne Université in Paris in 2014 and participating in the Open School East in London and Margate in 2016. She took part in several residencies, including at the White House in Dagenham in 2017, the FRAC Grand Large in Dunkirk in 2018 and Te Whare Hera in Wellington, New Zealand, where she presented her first solo exhibition “Eating Each Other” in 2019. She was awarded the Prix Sciences Po for contemporary art in 2018 for her project “The Anti-Social Social Club: Episode One, The Chamber of the Dispossessed”. Chabanon's works have been shown in France as part of La Manutention, a performance programme at Palais de Tokyo (2018), at Parc Saint Léger (2016), and the CAC Chanot, Clamart (2019). Other chapters of “The surplus of the non-producer” were presented at Lafayette Anticipations (2018), Bétonsalon - Centre d'art et de recherche, Paris (2020) and Westfälischer Kunstverein, Münster (2020).
instagram.com/macaronic_cheese

Peggy Pierrot is an unclassifiable activist: she is a journalist, radio host, webmaster, editor,… She currently works at Ecole de Recherche Graphique, Brussels, (ERG) where she teaches Media and Communication Theory and is involved in the Stories and Experimentation - Speculative Narration master course. She gives conferences and workshops on Afro-Atlantic cultures and literatures, science fiction, media and technologies, and wishes to make audible the words of those who are "invisible". Through her work, she proposes a transversal gaze on African diasporas in Europe & America, questioning their origins, the myth of the homeland as well as possible futures.

Rosanna Puyol is a poet and editor who collaborates with artists for exhibitions, readings, film programs and performances. She co-founded the editing house Brook and has worked on the publication of translations of texts by Laura Mulvey, Shulamith Firestone, Fred Moten & Stefano Harney, José Esteban Muñoz, Cecilia Pavón and Saidiya Hartman, among others. She organizes reading groups as well as writing and translation workshops.
instagram.com/tarahasnoroomsinside

Find out more on the exhibition

The Surplus Talk
conversation
WE 09.06 19:30

Dans le cadre de l'exposition Chapter 4: Sold, Ève Chabanon, Peggy Pierrot et Rosanna Puyol se penchent sur les questions qui sous-tendent Le surplus du non-producteur : le travail marginalisé, le travail collectif, mais aussi... les communs.

Moderé par Sofia Dati, programmation des arts (audio)visuels

En français

Réservez une table pour 4 (ou juste pour vous)

doors 18:30
starts 19:30

BIO

Ève Chabanon (née en 1989, Poissy, France) vit et travaille à Bruxelles. Elle a obtenu un diplôme de la Haute École des Arts du Rhin (HEAR) à Strasbourg en 2013 avant de poursuivre un master en commissariat à la Sorbonne à Paris en 2014. Elle a ensuite participé à l'Open School East à Londres et à Margate en 2016. Elle a effectué plusieurs résidences, notamment à la Maison Blanche à Dagenham en 2017, au FRAC Grand Large à Dunkerque en 2018 et au Te Whare Hera à Wellington, en Nouvelle-Zélande, où elle a présenté sa première exposition solo Eating Each Other en 2019. Elle a reçu le prix Sciences Po pour l'art contemporain en 2018 pour son projet The Anti-Social Social Club : Episode One, The Chamber of the Dispossessed. Ses œuvres ont été exposées en France dans le cadre de La Manutention, un programme de performances au Palais de Tokyo (2018), au Parc Saint Léger (2016), et au CAC Chanot, Clamart (2019). D'autres chapitres tirés de The surplus of the non-producer ont été présentés à Lafayette Anticipations (2018), à Bétonsalon - Centre d'art et de recherche, Paris (2020) et au Westfälischer Kunstverein, Münster (2020).
instagram.com/macaronic_cheese

Peggy Pierrot est une militante inclassable : elle est journaliste, animatrice radio, webmaster, éditrice... Elle enseigne actuellement la Théorie des médias et de la communication à l'Ecole de Recherche Graphique à Bruxelles (ERG) et participe à son master Récits et expérimentation - Narration spéculative. Elle donne des conférences et des ateliers sur les cultures et les littératures afro-atlantiques, la science-fiction, les médias et les technologies, en souhaitant rendre audibles les mots de ceux qui sont "invisibles". Son travail propose un regard transversal sur les diasporas africaines en Europe et en Amérique en interrogeant leurs origines, tout comme le mythe de la patrie et les futurs possibles.

Rosanna Puyol est poétesse et éditrice. Elle élabore des expositions, des lectures, des programmes de films et des performances en collaboration avec des artistes. Elle a cofondé la maison d'édition Brook et travaillé à l'édition des textes traduits de Laura Mulvey, Shulamith Firestone, Fred Moten & Stefano Harney, José Esteban Muñoz, Cecilia Pavón et Saidiya Hartman, entre autres. Elle organise des groupes de lecture ainsi que des ateliers d'écriture et de traduction.
instagram.com/tarahasnoroomsinside