Sirah Foighel Brutmann & Eitan Efrat Measuring Narrative With Water

performance

Sirah Foighel Brutmann & Eitan Efrat Measuring Narrative With Water

performance
TH 18.04 20:30
FR 19.04 20:30

Seeking accountability for a family history written 100 years ago between Copenhagen and Bangkok.

ᗰEᗩᔕᑌᖇIᑎG ᑎᗩᖇᖇᗩTIᐯE ᗯITᕼ ᗯᗩTEᖇ is an audiovisual performance oscillating between personal inheritance and historical accountability of re-telling. Between 1920 and 1922, Knud Heckscher, Sirah Foighel Brutmann’s great-grandfather, traveled from Copenhagen to Bangkok, where he worked for a Danish-British-Siamese electricity company. During these two years, he meticulously reported his daily life that includes a series of 107 letters and a collection of black and white pictures. In 2020, Sirah received these letters and pictures in inheritance. 

These materials are the departure point of Sirah and Eitan work for ᗰEᗩᔕᑌᖇIᑎG ᑎᗩᖇᖇᗩTIᐯE ᗯITᕼ ᗯᗩTEᖇ , as they reveal the complex personality of Knud and the nauseating environment in which he was navigating back then. 

 

Trigger warning: racist and antisemitic content from letters and photos produced in 1920 and 1922.

 

Sirah Foighel Brutmann and Eitan Efrat are working in collaboration, creating works in the audiovisual field, installation and performance. They live and work in Brussels. Their practice focuses on the performative aspects of the moving image. In their work they aim to mark the spatial and durational potentialities of reading of images – moving or still; the relations between spectatorship and history; the temporality of narratives and memory and the material surfaces of image production. Their works have been shown in duo exhibitions in Kunsthalle Basel (CH); Argos, Brussels (BE) and CAC Delme (FR); at group exhibitions in Argos (BE); Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe, Hamburg (DE); Portikus, Frankfurt (DE); Jeu de Paume, Paris (FR) and STUK, Leuven (BE); in film festivals such as EMAF, Osnabrück (DE); Atonal, Berlin (DE); Doc Lisboa (PT); Oberhausen Film Festival (DE); Rotterdam Film Festival (NL); Les Rencontres International, Paris and Berlin (FR/DE); New Horizons, Wrocław (PL); Images, Toronto (CA); 25FPS, Zagreb (HR).

Sirah and Eitan are currently teaching at ERG, Brussels.

https://messidorgroup.be/foighel-brutmann-efrat/

 

by and with | Sirah Foighel Brutmann and Eitan Efrat
dramaturgical doula | Bouchra Lamsyeh
source text and photographs | Knud Heckscher
recorded voices | Hanne Foighel and Rita Efrat
additional video material shot by | Hanne Foighel, Leni Huyghe Simon Halsberghe, Ula Sickle, Nilus Efrat and Gabriel Schenker
screen support | Sabrina Seifried
produced by | Messidor
with the support of | The Flemish Community, Morpho, Arts Centre Nona, Beursschouwburg, Kunsthal Extra City, Arts Centre Buda and Kunstenwerkplaats

music performance film expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
Sirah Foighel Brutmann & Eitan Efrat Measuring Narrative With Water

performance

Sirah Foighel Brutmann & Eitan Efrat Measuring Narrative With Water

performance
TH 18.04 20:30
FR 19.04 20:30

Une quête de responsabilité pour une histoire familiale écrite il y a 100 ans entre Copenhague et Bangkok.

en anglais
60 min.

ᗰEᗩᔕᑌᖇIᑎG ᑎᗩᖇᖇᗩTIᐯE ᗯITᕼ ᗯᗩTEᖇ est une performance audiovisuelle qui oscille entre le patrimoine personnel et la responsabilité historique de la transmission. Entre 1920 et 1922, Knud Heckscher, l'arrière-grand-père de Sirah Foighel Brutmann, voyage entre Copenhague et Bangkok, où il travaille pour une entreprise électrique. Pendant deux ans, il tient un rapport méticuleux de sa vie quotidienne, dont il reste notamment une série de 107 lettres et une collection de photos en noir et blanc. En 2020, Sirah reçoit ces lettres et ces photos en héritage.

Ces documents constituent le point de départ du travail de Sirah et Eitan pour ᗰEᗩᔕᑌᖇIᑎG ᑎᗩᖇᖇᗩTIᐯE ᗯITᕼ ᗯᗩTEᖇ, révélant la personnalité complexe de Knud et l'environnement nauséabond dans lequel il naviguait à l'époque.

Trigger warning : contenu raciste et antisémite des lettres et photos produites en 1920 et 1922.

 

Après la représentation, les artistes vous invitent à se rassembler dans le quiet space au premier étage (en face des toilettes).

 

Sirah Foighel Brutmann et Eitan Efrat collaborent dans le domaine de l'audiovisuel, de l'installation et de la performance. Iels vivent et travaillent à Bruxelles. Leur pratique se concentre sur les aspects performatifs de l'image en mouvement. Dans leur travail, iels cherchent à marquer les potentialités spatiales et temporelles de la lecture d'images : en mouvement ou immobiles ; les relations entre la spectature et l'histoire ; la temporalité des récits et de la mémoire et les surfaces matérielles de la production d'images. Leurs œuvres ont été présentées en duo à la Kunsthalle Basel (CH) ; Argos, Bruxelles (BE) et CAC Delme (FR) ; dans des expositions collectives à Argos (BE) ; Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe, Hambourg (DE) ; Portikus, Francfort (DE) ; Jeu de Paume, Paris (FR) et STUK, Louvain (BE) ; dans des festivals de cinéma tels que EMAF, Osnabrück (DE) ; Atonal, Berlin (DE) ; Doc Lisboa (PT) ; Oberhausen Film Festival (DE) ; Rotterdam Film Festival (NL) ; Les Rencontres Internationales, Paris et Berlin (FR/DE) ; New Horizons, Wrocław (PL) ; Images, Toronto (CA) ; 25FPS, Zagreb (HR).

Sirah et Eitan enseignent à l'ERG, à Bruxelles.

https://messidorgroup.be/foighel-brutmann-efrat/

 

by and with | Sirah Foighel Brutmann and Eitan Efrat
dramaturgical doula | Bouchra Lamsyeh
source text and photographs | Knud Heckscher
recorded voices | Hanne Foighel and Rita Efrat
additional video material shot by | Hanne Foighel, Leni Huyghe Simon Halsberghe, Ula Sickle, Nilus Efrat and Gabriel Schenker
screen support | Sabrina Seifried
produced by | Messidor
with the support of | The Flemish Community, Morpho, Arts Centre Nona, Beursschouwburg, Kunsthal Extra City, Arts Centre Buda and Kunstenwerkplaats