Heritage Days
guided tour
SA 14.09.2019 14:00 - 18:00
SU 15.09.2019 14:00 - 18:00

Around the building’s awning you can see our name: Beursschouwburg. Or is it Bourscaubirg? What’s with all the different spellings? Who has liberated us from the constraints of official spelling? Find out on the Heritage Days.

A short tour will soon avail you of the facts: this is indeed a schouwburg, with the requisite theatre, big hallways, echoing staircases and a multitude of fire exits. The unique space within these walls poses both a challenge and an opportunity when it comes to presenting fine art. 

A tour of the 200-year past of this cultural haven will open your eyes to all the many corners of the building and the ways we have incorporated the work of artists within it. Following the renovations in 2002, the Swiss exhibition-maker Moritz Küng immortalised a sound installation by Ann-Veronica Janssen, among other works. Over the years, this in-situ piece has been joined by work from Rinus Vandevelde, David Helbich and Lawrence Weiner.
heritagedays.brussels

w/ Brussel Babbelt & Klare Lijn

 

Guided tours in Dutch at 14:30, 15:30, 16:30 & 17:30.
Guided tours in French at 14:00, 15:00, 16:00 & 17:00.

50 min
max. 25 pers / tour
without reservation

You might also like:

Journées du Patrimoine
visite guidée
SA 14.09.2019 14:00 - 18:00
SU 15.09.2019 14:00 - 18:00

Sur le bord de l’auvent, on peut tour à tour lire beurshowburg, bourscaubirg... Le nom est toujours épelé différemment. Qui a défait Beursschouwburg de son orthographe officielle ? Tu l’apprendras pendant les Journées du Patrimoine.

Une courte promenade suffit pour s'en rendre compte : il s’agit d’un théâtre – avec sa salle de théâtre, ses grands couloirs, ses escaliers et sa multitude de sorties de secours. C’est un défi, et une opportunité, d’exposer de l’art visuel au sein du magnifique bâtiment du Beursschouwburg.

Grâce à la visite guidée qui explore l'histoire riche de 200 ans de cette zone franche culturelle, tu regarderas d’un autre œil chaque recoin du bâtiment et la façon dont les œuvres de (jeunes) artistes ont été intégrées de façon permanente dans la structure. Après les rénovations de 2002, le créateur d’expositions suisse Moritz Küng a entre autres intégré une installation sonore d’Ann-Veronica Jenssen. Cette œuvre sur site a été complétée, au cours des années, par des œuvres de Rinus Vandevelde, David Helbich et Lawrence Weiner.

 

Visites guidées en français à 14:00, 15:00, 16:00 en 17:00.
Visites guidées en néerlandais à 14:30, 15:30, 16:30 et 17:30.

50 min
max. 25 pers par visite
sans réservation