music performance film expo dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
Loraine Furter Whispering Pages & Interrogation Hearts

conversations

Loraine Furter Whispering Pages & Interrogation Hearts

workshop
SA 27.04 10:00 - 18:00

A gathering around subversive and empowering publishing stories from the past, present and future.

Take a deep breath in through your nose, and a deep breath out through your mouth... In a few breaths we will meet in a parallel space-time in which we can share and dream stories of empowerment through publishing, in an expanded understanding of the term, including oral transmission and hybrid~cyborg formats.·՞ ՟ ՚

From (micro-)typography to editorial structures. From gossip to public speech. From ghostwriting to collective pamphlets.

This collective moment is preceded by the opening of the exhibition “Messy Bindings” (and talk by feminist publisher Nina Paim at Rosa on the 26th of April), organized as part of the research project “The politics of publishing: researching encounters between artists’ books and intersectional feminist tools” which addresses artists’ books and the politics of publishing, creating forms to remember overlooked histories in this field, through a critical design approach which includes feminist tools. 

https://speakingvolumes.space/whispering-pages.html

 

PROGRAMME

We will open the doors of the space at 10am °⸛⸰ the “silver space” is on the fifth floor of Beursschouwburg, accessible from inside the building by a legendarily infinite staircase and an on-request elevator. The room usually welcomes DJs and dancing bodies, the corridor leads to toilets on one side and a rooftop terrasse on the other. Inside the room are different kinds of seats, from regular chairs to cushions and carpets, on which early guests can come and sit, sip a cup of tea, read booklets and ephemeras, listen to audio pieces, enjoy visual elements and rest.

At 11°° the event starts, with the organizer Loraine and artist Moustapha Guissé on the mic, introducing the space, the program, the sound devices present in the room, making space for oral and audio transmission, making connections with other forms that will be present in the day. 

Then, Loraine and graphic designer Sarah Magnan will then guide everyone in a collective meditation and SF futurology exercise, opening up a a dreamed alternative space-time for publishing practices ⸰⸰⸰ ⋱ 

Coming back to our reality, we will hear invited guests for short presentations of parallel workshops and participatory moments that will take place after the lunch break ⦂ Backstage, a workshop to make (up) one's persona with artists and performers Vinciane Mandrin & Nino André ⎰⎰ an emancipatory science fiction reading group with artist & writer Clara Pacotte & graphic designer Sherida Kuffour ⎰⎰ diasporic memories and publishing with artists and graphic designers Joud Toamah, Garine Gokceyan & Marie Damageux ⎰⎰ an arpentage of the book “Abécédaire d’auto-édition féministe” by book-binder and researcher Lissa Choukrane ⎰⎰ a working table to prototype displays for soft publications, for those who prefer a different way to connect.

At 12⸰30 pm we will take a break, eat, and fill our body and eyes with the food creations of designers Roxanne Maillet and Leo Ren O’faigain.

After the lunch break, at 1⸰30 pm the parallel workshops will start, spread in the room.

At 4°°, we will gather again to listen to slam artist Joëlle Sambi, designer and educator Mio Kojima and asiofeminist podcast creator Mélanie Cao, whose voices will compose a landscape full of tips and shared experiences in bringing different voices together.

The day will end with a mix of recordings from the day by designer, artist and DJ Sarah Saleh (Archival Resistance, Sampling as a Political practice).

A slow ending of the day 5°° to 6°°pm to discuss, conspire, sit or lay down, sip a cup of tea, read booklets and ephemeras, listen to audio pieces, enjoy visual elements and rest.

 

This is a multilingual event with partial language & accessibility translations in the form of hybrid publishing (projections, prints, audio files ⸰⸰⸰ bring your headphones with you!) 

 

Organized by Loraine Furter, graphic designer and researcher supported by the PHD program for research in the arts at Sint Lucas Antwerp, UAntwerp & ARIA. Loraine is a graphic designer and a teacher, specialized in hybrid publishing and in love with subversive anti-hegemonic practices. She co-founded the cyber-feminist collective Just For the Record, the typography research group Bye Bye Binary and the project Intersections of Care.
https://www.lorainefurter.net/

 

With the support from the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles and from Antwerp Doctoral School’s Subsidie Omkadering Jonge Onderzoekers (OJO).

music performance film expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
Loraine Furter Whispering Pages & Interrogation Hearts

conversations

Loraine Furter Whispering Pages & Interrogation Hearts

workshop
SA 27.04 10:00 - 18:00

Une rencontre autour d'histoires d'édition subversives et émancipatrices du passé, du présent et de l'avenir.

Inspirez profondément par le nez et expirez profondément par la bouche... Dans quelques respirations, nous nous retrouverons dans un espace-temps parallèle dans lequel nous pourrons partager et rêver d'histoires d'émancipation par la pratique de l'édition, dans une compréhension élargie du terme, qui inclut la transmission orale et les formats hybrides~cyborg.-՞ ՟ ՚

De la (micro-)typographie aux structures éditoriales. Des rumeurs à la parole publique. Du ghostwriting aux pamphlets collectifs.

Ce moment collectif est organisé dans le cadre du projet de recherche "The politics of publishing : researching encounters between artists' books and intersectional feminist tools" autour des livres d'artistes et la politique de l'édition. Le projet crée des formes en souvenir d'histoires négligées dans ce domaine en mobilisant une démarche de design critique et  des outils féministes. Le projet se matérialise par une série de publications hybrides (papier, numérique, spatiale, orale) qui réactivent des objets et des histoires et les remettent en circulation.

 

PROGRAMME 

" Les portes s'ouvrent à 10h °⸛⸰ la “silver space” est au cinquième étage du Beursschouwburg, accessible depuis l'intérieur du bâtiment par une cage d'escaliers infinie et un ascenceur sur demande. La pièce accueille d'habitude des DJs et des corps dansants, le corridor mène à des toilettes d'un côté et à une terrasse de l'autre. À l'intérieur sont disposés différentes sortes d'assises, des chaises, des coussins, des tapis, sur lesquel·les les premièr·es arrivé·es peuvent s'installer, boire une tasse de thé, lire des zines et des facsimilés, écouter des enregistrements sonores, regarder les objets présentés dans l'espace, se reposer ⸰⋆⸰

À 11h°° le programme commence, avec Loraine Furter (organisatrix) et l'artiste Moustapha Guissé au micro, qui introduisent l'espace, le programme, le matériel sonore réparti dans la pièce, faisant place aux transmissions orales et audio qui vont s'y passer, et les connectant avec d'autres formes aussi présentes ce jour.

Ensuite, Loraine et la graphiste Sarah Magnan présenteront une méditation guidée & exercice de futurologie SF, ouvrant des espaces-temps rêvés pour des pratiques d'édition alternatives ⸰⸰⸰ ⋱ 

De retour dans notre réalité partagée, nous entendrons d'autres invité·es présenter une série d'ateliers parallèles, qui auront lieu après la pause de midi ⦂ Backstage, un moment intime et partagé devant le miroir où les palettes de maquillage et autres accessoires deviennent des outils pour penser/créer de nouveaux personnages et mondes, avec les artistes et performeureuses Vinciane Mandrin & Nino André ⎰⎰ un groupe de lecture de passages de science fiction émancipatrice avec la SF wizard Peggy Pierrot, l'artiste et autrice de SF Clara Pacotte & la graphiste et fondatrice du projet Brave New Lit. Sherida Kuffour ⎰⎰ une discussion et moment de partage autour de mémoires diasporique et d'édition avec les artistes et graphistes Joud Toamah, Garine Gokceyan & Marie Damageux ⎰⎰ une table de bricolage et de création de supports pour des publications aux reliures indisciplinées.

À 12⸰30 on fera une pause, et on remplira nos ventres et nos yeux des créations culinaires de Roxanne Maillet & Leo Ren.

Après la pause de midi, à 13⸰30 les workshops commenceront, répartis dans la pièce.

À 16°°, on se réunira à nouveau pour écouter la slammeuse Joëlle Sambi, la designer et éducatrice Mio Kojima, la créatrice du podcast Asiofeminism Now! Mélanie Cao, qui partageront, chuchoteront, et scanderont des expériences et outils autour de comment composer avec différentes voix.

La journée se terminera avec un mix d'enregistrements faits pendant la journée par la DJ & inspiratrice Sylvia Iweanya ⋰ Ill Syll 

Cet événement est multilingue, avec des traductions partielles sous la forme d'éditions hybrides (projections, imprimés, fichiers audio ⸰⸰⸰ amenez vos écouteurs!)"

 

Organisé par Loraine Furter, graphiste et chercheuse soutenue par le programme de doctorat de recherche en arts à Sint Lucas Antwerp, UAntwerp & ARIA. Loraine est graphiste et enseignante, spécialisée dans l'édition hybride et amoureuse des pratiques subversives anti-hégémoniques. Elle a cofondé le collectif cyberféministe Just For the Record, le groupe de recherche en typographie Bye Bye Binary et le projet Intersections of Care.
https://www.lorainefurter.net/