LET ME KNOW

Dearest contemporaries,

Everybody knows, it seems. We are surrounded by knowledge: every day we inhale new knowledge and, directly or indirectly, help to create it. But what do we know and why? What is kept out, disqualified or never listened to?

Knowledges of different kinds. That's what we're going to talk about in 2020. The ongoing patterns within knowledge regimes make it (urgently!) necessary to scrutinise knowing as a phenomenon, to question our hunger for ‘reliable knowledge’, to look beyond what we are so sure of and to embrace the unloved unknown. Can we know better? Can we know together? Will unlearning what we know allow us to know more? Please, let me know!

Let’s challenge the coloniality of power, break away from the dominance of Western knowledge and open ourselves up to all the different knowledges out there – knowledges across continents, underserved knowledges, embodied knowledges, artistic epistemologies, situated knowledges, marginalised positions ... Let’s get out of our knowledge bubbles to encounter new ways of getting together.

And here it is: our spring programme, bursting with performance, film, music and an exhibition! We’re reaching out to unknown hands, meeting old friends on new islands and dancing together through space and time. You, anyone and everyone are all welcome to come listen and chatter with us, to learn and collectively think out loud.

Let me know,
Beursschouwburg

 

 

MUSIC
PERFORMANCE
FILM
EXPO
TALKS

You might also like:

LET ME KNOW
7 FEB — 30 APR

Cher·e·s contemporain·e·s,

Tout le monde le sait, nous sommes entouré·e·s de savoir et de connaissance. Nous en apprenons chaque jour un peu plus et participons, consciemment ou inconsciemment, à leur création. Mais que savons-nous et pourquoi le savons-nous ? Quels savoirs sont exclus, illégitimes ou pas entendus ?

Le savoir, voilà de quoi nous parlerons en 2020. Les schémas actuels qui régissent les connaissances rendent (urgemment !) nécessaire d’étudier le savoir-en-tant-que-phénomène, de remettre en question notre soif de « connaissance fiable », d’aller outre nos certitudes et de faire de la place à l'inconnu. Pouvons-nous savoir mieux ? Pouvons-nous savoir ensemble ? Est-ce que déconstruire nos connaissances nous permettra d'en savoir plus ? Please, laissez-moi savoir !

Mettons au défi les rapports de rapports de forces issus de l'héritage colonial, brisons la dominance des connaissances occidentales et ouvrons-nous aux différents savoirs qui existent – les savoirs du Sud, les savoirs défavorisés, les savoirs incarnés, les épistémologies artistiques, les savoirs positionnés, les positions marginalisées… Sortons de nos bulles de connaissance et découvrons-nous autours de nouvelles façons de se réunir.

Voici donc notre programme printanier, débordant de performances, de films, de musique et d’expos ! Nous prendrons des inconnu·e·s par la main, rencontrons de vieilles connaissances sur de nouvelles îles et danserons ensemble à travers le temps et l’espace. Toi, tout le monde, et tous les autres êtes les bienvenu·e·s pour écouter, apprendre et penser collectivement à haute voix.

Let Me Know,

Beursschouwburg.

MUSIC
PERFORMANCE
FILM
EXPO
TALKS

You might also like: