breaking habits — ⁠How accessible is your institution?

conversations

breaking habits — ⁠How accessible is your institution?

talk
TH 21.04.2022 19:00

Conversations on ableism.

Whereas art schools, platforms and institutions often show off universal and inclusive values, they still tend to use elitist and exclusive practices in their organization and policy-making. The categorisation of ‘people with disabilities and/or neurodiversity’ offers a signifier on the debate on productivity, care, inclusivity, representation and language that connects directly or indirectly to any art world participant lacking certain forms of privilege.

Reflecting on concepts like non-curricula, access and social models, we’ll attempt to show how deeply these infiltrate the ubiquitous discourse of inaccessibility as well as these participants’ artistic practice, mental health and identity. 

19:00 lecture performance 'NON/Ableism'

On testimonies and ableism by Mira Bryssinck (she/her) & Josefien Cornette (they/them, she/her)

What does it mean to testify? Why must we listen? We all have stories to tell, but how do we demand to be heard? This lecture is a call to incorporate testimonials as art-objects in an artistic practice, in order to emancipate, diversify and criticise institutional problems through an embodied practice.. In the words of Sarah Ahmed: ‘Complaints and refusals to stay quiet as a method of diversity work’. All the while, , the lecture will introduce the main vocabulary of  disability studies through the voices of others.

20:00 panel discussion

On the practicalities of accessibility in the cultural sector
With Mira Bryssinck, Josefien Cornette, Marianne Mulakoze, Marijn Prakke and Daan Vander Steene.

 

This events will be held in English. Questions can be asked in French, English and Dutch. 

Visual support and vocabulary will be given in English and Dutch.

Beurscafé is entirely accessible to wheelchairs. If you have any questions regarding accessibility, please reach out to us: hello(at)beursschouwburg.be

 

BIOS

Mira Bryssinck is a theater maker and actress who studied drama at KASK Ghent. She created the show Utopia, in collaboration with Villa Voortman, a community center in Ghent. She has acted in the television series Tytgat Chocolat, is a member of the Par Hasard collective and active among the Montignards in Antwerp. She has been awarded the Karen Vernimmen prize as well as a Vocatio fellowship. Mira is continuously searching for the tension between language and image, preferring the constantly changing dynamics of the theater of the absurd, able to alienate and connect at the same time. 

Josefien Cornette (they/she) is an artist and writer, with a background in art-history, feminism and (critical) disability studies. Josefien explores an artistic practice embedded in artistic research, inventing new strategies of storytelling, writing and reporting. Their work has been praised to be rebellious and poetic, winning several awards, most notably the DiverGent Thesis Prize (2020) with their book-manuscript A House Called Pain.

Marianne Mulakoze is a Belgian-Rwandan-Congolese multidisciplinary artist. On her blog MULAKOZè, she highlights issues that have had an impact on her: adoption, disability and disabling diseases, slow fashion, racism and sexism. Deux Pouces (Two Thumbs) is her pseudonym as a visual artist. MULAKOZè ATELIER is a sewing and digital media workshop  that raises awareness about the textile industry’s impact on human beings and the environment. Marianne’s search for balance with her particular body, her various identities and her work focuses on progressing and evolving as a person. At the same time, including others in this process allows for a new, sometimes fragile balance between the individual and the collective.

Marijn Prakke trained as an actor in Brussels, The Hague and New York. In his project Cripping the Stage at the Royal Conservatory in Antwerp he researches what a disabled imagination of the stage could entail. He is trying to devise a theater that is not about disability, but that looks at the world through a disabled - or "crip" - lens. The 1932 movie Freaks functions as an inspiration. With Kunstenpunt, he is developing "brave spaces" that fuel the conversation about the lack of representation of people with disabilities on all levels of the cultural sector, but particularly in artistic and management roles.

Daan Vander Steene has been business manager at NTGent since September 2020. Daan studied Pedagogy and has expertise in social profit management as well as project management as former head of cabinet for Resul Tapmaz and for the former mayor Daniël Termont. Daan has a passion for social justice.


Image: ‘Do you want us here or not’ - 2018 Shannon Finnegan

music performance film expo dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
breaking habits — ⁠How accessible is your institution?

conversations

breaking habits — ⁠How accessible is your institution?

conversation
TH 21.04.2022 19:00

Conversations on ableism.

Alors que la majorité des écoles d'art et des institutions affichent des valeurs d'universalité et d'inclusion, elles tendent encore trop souvent à utiliser des pratiques élitistes et exclusives dans leur organisation et leur prise de décision. La catégorisation des "personnes handicapées et/ou de la neurodiversité" est un indicateur du débat sur la productivité, le soin, l'inclusion, la représentation et le langage qui se rapporte directement ou indirectement aux participant-e-s du monde de l'art dépourvu-e-s de certains privilèges.

En examinant des concepts comme le non-curriculaire, l'accessibilité ou les modèles sociaux, nous tenterons de témoigner de la façon dont ils imprègnent le discours ambiant sur l'inaccessibilité, ainsi que la pratique artistique, la santé mentale et l'identité de ces participant-e-s.

19:00 lecture performance 'NON/Ableism'

La première partie de la soirée est une lecture-performance sur le projet NON/Ableism, un projet qui recueille des témoignages sur le capacitisme, par Mira Bryssinck (elle) et Josefien Cornette (elleux). Que signifie témoigner ? Quelle est l'importance de l'écoute ? Nous avons toustes des histoires à raconter, mais comment exiger d'être entendu-e ? Cette conférence appelle à incorporer les témoignages comme objets d'art dans une pratique artistique, afin d'émanciper, de diversifier et de critiquer les problèmes institutionnels à travers une pratique incarnée. Pour reprendre les mots de Sarah Ahmed : “Les plaintes et le refus de se taire fonctionnent comme une méthode de diversité". Par la même occasion, la lecture mobilise d’autres voix pour introduire le vocabulaire récent au sein des études sur le handicap. 

20:00 table ronde

La deuxième partie de la soirée consiste en une table ronde sur les aspects pratiques de l'accessibilité dans le secteur culturel.

Avec Mira Bryssinck, Josefien Cornette, Marianne Mulakoze, Marijn Prakke et Daan Vander Steene.

 

Cet événement se déroulera en anglais. Un support visuel et du vocabulaire seront fournis en anglais et en néerlandais. Les questions pourront être posées en français, anglais et néerlandais.

Le Beurscafé est entièrement accessible aux fauteuils roulants. Si tu as des questions sur l'accessibilité, n'hésite pas à nous contacter : hello(at)beursschouwburg.be

 

BIO

Mira Bryssinck est une créatrice de théâtre et actrice ayant suivi une formation d'art dramatique au KASK à Gand. Elle a créé le spectacle Utopia en collaboration avec Villa Voortman, un centre communautaire de Gand. Elle a joué dans la série télévisée Tytgat Chocolat, est membre du collectif Par Hasard et active parmi les Montignards à Anvers. Elle est lauréate du prix Karen Vernimmen ainsi que de la bourse Vocatio. Mira est continuellement à la recherche de la tension entre le langage et l'image, préférant les dynamiques évolutives du théâtre de l'absurde capables d’aliéner et de rassembler en même temps. 

Josefien Cornette (iel) est un-e artiste et écrivain-e, avec une formation en histoire de l'art, en féminisme et en études (critiques) du handicap. Josefien explore une pratique artistique ancrée dans la recherche artistique, afin d’inventer de nouvelles stratégies de narration, d'écriture et de reportage. Son travail a été salué comme étant rebelle et poétique, remportant plusieurs prix, notamment le DiverGent Thesis Prize (2020) pour son livre-manuscrit A House Called Pain.

Marianne Mulakoze est une artiste multidisciplinaire belgo-rwandaise-congolaise. Sur son blog MULAKOZè, elle met en avant des sujets qui l'ont marquée : l'adoption, le handicap et les maladies invalidantes, la slow fashion, le racisme et le sexisme. Deux Pouces est son pseudonyme d'artiste plasticienne. MULAKOZè ATELIER est un atelier de couture et de médias numériques qui sensibilise à l'impact de l'industrie textile sur les êtres humains et l'environnement. La recherche d'équilibre de Marianne avec son corps particulier, ses différentes identités et son travail est axée sur la progression et l'évolution en tant que personne. En même temps, l'inclusion d'autres personnes dans ce processus permet un nouvel équilibre, parfois fragile, entre l'individu et le collectif.

Marijn Prakke a suivi une formation d'acteur à Bruxelles, La Haye et New York. Dans le cadre de son projet de recherche Cripping the Stage au Conservatoire royal d'Anvers, il étudie le potentiel d'un imaginaire handicapé de la scène. Il essaie de concevoir un théâtre qui ne traite pas du handicap, mais qui regarde le monde à travers une perspective handicapée ou "crip". Le film Freaks de 1932 lui sert d'inspiration. Avec Kunstenpunt, il développe des "espaces courageux" qui alimentent la conversation sur le manque de représentation des personnes handicapées à tous les niveaux du secteur culturel, particulièrement dans les rôles artistiques et de gestion.

Daan Vander Steene est business manager à NTGent depuis septembre 2020. Daan a étudié la pédagogie et possède une expertise dans la gestion des bénéfices sociaux ainsi que dans la gestion de projets en tant qu'ancien chef de cabinet de Resul Tapmaz et de l'ancien maire Daniël Termont. Daan est passionné de justice sociale.

 

Image: ‘Do you want us here or not’ - 2018 Shannon Finnegan