Joshua Serafin Miss
dance
FR 11.02 20:30
SA 12.02 20:30

In the Philippines, transgender beauty pageants are big business. Joshua uses choreography to explore what this (sub)culture can teach us about gender, identity, beauty politics, and hidden colonial pasts.

The Philippines is a bona fide record holder in the realm of international beauty pageants, boasting no fewer than fifteen wins in competitions such as Miss Universe, Miss World, Miss Earth and Miss International. And beauty pageants are serious business in the country itself. In the city of Cebu, for example, the Queen Philippines contest takes place every year, the largest and most prestigious event of its kind for transgender women. In ‘MISS’, dancer Joshua Serafin explores the politics, culture and practices behind the queer beauty industry.

Zooming in on the strict regimes and choreographies of the industry, Serafin casts a critical eye on the codes of performativity typical of the transgender beauty contests of the Philippines, ‘where queerness explodes any fixed categorisation of femininity and fantasy’. Serafin based this work on interviews with a number of regional queens. In this way he unravels not only the mechanisms behind these contests but also the religious and colonial influences that can still be felt today.

BIO

Joshua Serafin is a multi-disciplinary artist that combines, dance, performance, visual arts and choreography born in the Philippines. His works deal with questions about identity, transmigration, queer politics and representation, states of being and ways of inhabiting the body. 

Joshua is a graduate of Philippine High School for the Arts where he majored in Theatre Arts. He studied at Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and at P.A.R.T.S., and is currently taking his Masters in Fine Arts in Visual Arts in KASK School of the Arts Ghent. 

Joshua Serafin has collaborated with multiple artists in Asia and Europe ranging from performance to visual arts such as Arco Renz, Eisa Jocson, Manuel Pelmus, Bruno Isacović, Ming Wong, Adrian Wong, Choy Ka Fai, Leeroy New, Korakrit Arunanondchai, and Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, and etc. He has presented his work in Deltebre Dansa in Spain, Queer Zagreb Croatia, Centre National de la Danse in Paris, Wing Platform Hong Kong and Bouge B Festival in deSingel.

https://www.instagram.com/joshudoser/

Joshua Serafin Miss
danse
FR 11.02 20:30
SA 12.02 20:30

Aux Philippines, les concours de beauté pour transsexuel-le-s sont un gros business. Joshua utilise la chorégraphie pour explorer ce que cette (sub)culture peut nous apprendre sur le genre, l'identité, les politiques de la beauté et les passés coloniaux enfouis.

Les Philippines détiennent un véritable record dans le domaine des concours de beauté internationaux, avec pas moins de quinze victoires dans des compétitions telles que Miss Univers, Miss Monde, Miss Terre et Miss International. Les concours de beauté sont une affaire tout aussi sérieuse à l'intérieur du pays. La ville de Cebu, par exemple, accueille chaque année le concours Queen Philippines, l'événement le plus important et le plus prestigieux pour les femmes transgenres. Dans "MISS", le danseur Joshua Serafin explore la politique, la culture et les pratiques qui se cachent derrière l'industrie de la beauté queer.

En examinant de plus près la rigueur des régimes et des chorégraphies de l'industrie, Serafin jette un regard critique sur les codes de la performativité propres aux concours de beauté transsexuels des Philippines, "où ce qui est queer fait exploser toute catégorisation fixe de la féminité et de la fantaisie.” Serafin a réalisé ce travail à partir d'entretiens avec un certain nombre de "queens" régionales. Il dévoile ainsi non seulement les mécanismes de ces concours, mais aussi les influences religieuses et coloniales qui se font encore sentir aujourd'hui.

BIO

Joshua Serafin est un artiste pluridisciplinaire né aux Philippines qui combine la danse, la performance, les arts visuels et la chorégraphie. Ses œuvres traitent des questions d'identité, de transmigration, de politique et de représentation queer, ainsi que les manières d'être au monde et d'habiter le corps.

Joshua est diplômé de la Philippine High School for the Arts, où il s'est spécialisé dans les arts du théâtre. Il a étudié à l'Académie des arts du spectacle de Hong Kong et à P.A.R.T.S., et suit actuellement un master en arts visuels à la KASK School of the Arts de Gand.

Joshua Serafin a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes en Asie et en Europe dans le domaine de la performance et des arts visuels, tels que Arco Renz, Eisa Jocson, Manuel Pelmus, Bruno Isacović, Ming Wong, Adrian Wong, Choy Ka Fai, Leeroy New, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker. Il a présenté son travail à Deltebre Dansa en Espagne, à Queer Zagreb Croatia, au Centre National de la Danse à Paris, au Wing Platform Hong Kong et au Bouge B Festival à deSingel.

https://www.instagram.com/joshudoser/