Ève Chabanon Chapter 4: Sold
expo
23 APR — 4 SEP

Together with a collective of ‘non-producers’ Ève Chabanon raises questions surrounding the conditions of cultural labour.

An economy of loss sits at the margins of our usual flow of extenuating production. According to the law of profit, the making of non-producers equals loss, and therefore debt. The ‘non-producers’ are a collective of makers in exile who question the way we assign value to cultural work. The surplus-value that they generate eludes calculation. It is a form of raw expenditure that operates through transfers of knowledge and practice. This exhibition presents a new chapter of the project “The Surplus of the Non-producer” that Chabanon has been developing collectively since 2016. Through ceramic sculptures, installation and film, Chapter 4: Sold is an invitation to explore a certain economy of the margins.

The mugs in the exhibition are on sale. Refer to the exhibition host for information on the price list. Payment by card only.

The sale of the Surplus series produced for ‘Chapter 3: Living in Reality’ at the Westfälischer Kunstverein in Münster continues in Beursschouwburg. With each chapter, the unsold mugs accumulate and become a currency in their own right. Their value keeps expanding, following their own curve of exponential value. Surplus endures with the remains of a past edition. 

OPENING ON FRIDAY 23 APRIL 2021, 14:00-21:30

 

OPENING HOURS
WEDNESDAY TILL SATURDAY
12:00 - 18:00

 

CLOSING EVENT ON SAT 4 SEPT 18:00 >> GUIDED TOUR + NOCTURNE

 

BIO

Ève Chabanon (b. 1989, Poissy, France) lives and works in Brussels. She graduated from the Haute École des Arts du Rhin (HEAR) in Strasbourg in 2013, before taking a Masters in Curating at the Sorbonne Université in Paris in 2014 and participating in the Open School East in London and Margate in 2016. She took part in several residencies, including at the White House in Dagenham in 2017, the FRAC Grand Large in Dunkirk in 2018 and Te Whare Hera in Wellington, New Zealand, where she presented her first solo exhibition “Eating Each Other” in 2019. She was awarded the Prix Sciences Po for contemporary art in 2018 for her project “The Anti-Social Social Club: Episode One, The Chamber of the Dispossessed”. Chabanon's works have been shown in France as part of La Manutention, a performance programme at Palais de Tokyo (2018), at Parc Saint Léger (2016), and the CAC Chanot, Clamart (2019). Other chapters of “The surplus of the non-producer” were presented at Lafayette Anticipations (2018), Bétonsalon - Centre d'art et de recherche, Paris (2020) and Westfälischer Kunstverein, Münster (2020).

THE NON-PRODUCERS

Yara Al Najem (b. 1990, Syria) is a graphic artist who graduated in visual communication from Damascus University in 2012. She started sharing her posters and designs on social media during the 2011 social uprising in Syria, and her works have been included in the Al Carama Ela Ayn exhibition in Jordan in 2012, Aswat Sorya in Switzerland in 2013, and Imago Mundi in Italy in 2015. She worked for InCoStrat from 2013 to 2016, and for Ark Group DMCC, from 2012 to 2013.

Abou Dubaev started working as a wood sculptor in the Chechen Republic at the age of 17, before specializing in plaster and stucco work. In the 1980s he started working as co-manager of a moulding company and, with the support of La Fabrique nomade, he is now pursuing his activities as a restorer, moulder and sculptor working on architectural details in museums, historical monuments and for designers.

Olivier Iturerere (b. 1988, Burundi) is the founder of the production company ITULIVE Media & Communications. He has produced and directed several films including Kilo 8, Welcome Home and The Springboard. After completing his studies in cinema at the Fémis in 2016, he taught at the SAPPEJ center in Paris and went on to work as production manager at billie ness, a French production company, and as production director at the association Exilophone. 

Nassima Shavaeva is an Uyghur singer and dancer. Originally from Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan, she usually performs with her spouse Azamat Abdurakhmanov. The couple has performed numerous shows and have released the record Laïra as a duo. Since Nassima Shavaeva moved to France in 2016 she has been seeking to develop her repertoire through collaborations with different musicians like Elie Maalouf or Wael Alkak.

Aram Ikram Taştekin (b. 1988, Turkish Kurdistan) is a playwright and actor. He studied theatre and art therapy, and now specializes in teaching drama to children in addition to being a theatre, cinema and television actor. In 2016, he was director of cultural affairs for the city of Lice (Turkey) before fleeing to France where he was given political asylum in 2017. He pursued his studies at Paris 8 University and INALCO and assisted Peter Brook and Marie-Hélène Estienne on the play Why. He has been a member of the agency of artists in exile since 2017.

Abdulmajeed Haydar (b. 1960, Syria) is a Palestinian scriptwriter from Syria. He wrote scripts for several television series as well as short and feature films. He organized a literary and cinema evening at a Palestinian refugee camp in Syria in 1987, and wrote series based on interactive drama that were perceived as being anti-regime and were soon censored and blacklisted. He directed TKHAREEF at the National Theatre of Damascus (2000), collaborated with Liwaa Yazji on the documentary Haunted (2014) and wrote La fenêtre (2018), which was performed in Paris with the support of the agency of artists in exile.

Ève Chabanon Chapter 4: Sold
today
expo
23 APR — 4 SEP

Avec un collectif de "non-producteurs", Ève Chabanon s'interroge sur les conditions du travail culturel.

Une économie de la perte se situe en marge de notre flux de production exténuant. Selon la loi du profit, les non-producteurs génèrent de la perte, de l’excès, de la dette. Les "non-producteurs" sont un collectif de créateurs en exil qui se rassemblent autour d’un questionnement sur la valeur attribuée au travail culturel. Le surplus auquel ils donnent forme est incalculable et opère à travers des transferts de savoirs et de pratiques. L'exposition présente un nouveau chapitre du projet “Le Surplus du non-producteur” que Chabanon développe collectivement depuis 2016. “Chapter 4: Sold” présente une installation, des sculptures en céramique et des vidéos qui nous invitent à explorer une certaine économie des marges.

Les tasses de l’exposition sont en vente. Vous pouvez vous adresser à l’accueil pour plus d’informations sur la liste des prix. Paiements uniquement par carte.

La vente de l’édition limitée Surplus produite pour ‘Chapter 3: Living in Reality’ à la Westfälischer Kunstverein, Münster, se poursuit au Beursschouwburg. Au fil des chapitres, les invendus s'accumulent et deviennent une devise à part entière. La valeur des tasses suit sa propre courbe de valeur et continue ainsi sa croissance exponentielle. Le surplus perdure à travers les restes d’une édition précédente.

 

VERNISSAGE LE VENDREDI 23 AVRIL, 14:00-21:30

HEURES D'OUVERTURE
mercredi - samedi
de 15:00 à 20:00

exception: 24 août - 4 sept >> 12:00 à 18:00

 

BIO

Ève Chabanon (née en 1989, Poissy, France) vit et travaille à Bruxelles. Elle a obtenu un diplôme de la Haute École des Arts du Rhin (HEAR) à Strasbourg en 2013 avant de poursuivre un master en commissariat à la Sorbonne à Paris en 2014. Elle a ensuite participé à l'Open School East à Londres et à Margate en 2016. Elle a effectué plusieurs résidences, notamment à la Maison Blanche à Dagenham en 2017, au FRAC Grand Large à Dunkerque en 2018 et au Te Whare Hera à Wellington, en Nouvelle-Zélande, où elle a présenté sa première exposition solo Eating Each Other en 2019. Elle a reçu le prix Sciences Po pour l'art contemporain en 2018 pour son projet The Anti-Social Social Club : Episode One, The Chamber of the Dispossessed. Ses œuvres ont été exposées en France dans le cadre de La Manutention, un programme de performances au Palais de Tokyo (2018), au Parc Saint Léger (2016), et au CAC Chanot, Clamart (2019). D'autres chapitres tirés de The surplus of the non-producer ont été présentés à Lafayette Anticipations (2018), à Bétonsalon - Centre d'art et de recherche, Paris (2020) et au Westfälischer Kunstverein, Münster (2020).

LES NON-PRODUCTEURS 

Yara Al Najem (née en 1990, Syrie) est une artiste graphique diplômée en communication visuelle de l'université de Damas en 2012. Elle a commencé à partager ses affiches et ses dessins sur les médias sociaux pendant le soulèvement social de 2011 en Syrie, et ses œuvres ont été inclues dans l'exposition Al Carama Ela Ayn en Jordanie en 2012, Aswat Sorya en Suisse en 2013, et Imago Mundi en Italie en 2015. Elle a travaillé pour InCoStrat de 2013 à 2016, et pour Ark Group DMCC, de 2012 à 2013.

Abou Dubaev a commencé à travailler comme sculpteur sur bois en République tchétchène à l'âge de 17 ans, avant de se spécialiser dans le travail du plâtre et du stuc. Dans les années 1980, il a commencé à travailler comme cogérant d'une entreprise de moulage, et avec le soutien de La Fabrique nomade, il poursuit aujourd'hui ses activités de restaurateur, de mouleur et de sculpteur travaillant sur des détails architecturaux pour des musées, des monuments historiques et des designers.

Olivier Iturerere (né en 1988 au Burundi) est le fondateur de la société de production ITULIVE Media & Communications. Il a produit et réalisé plusieurs films dont Kilo 8, Welcome Home et The Springboard. Après avoir terminé ses études en cinéma à la Fémis en 2016, il a enseigné au centre SAPPEJ à Paris et a ensuite travaillé comme directeur de production chez billie ness, une société de production française, et comme directeur de production à l'association Exilophone.

Nassima Shavaeva est une chanteuse et danseuse ouïgoure. Originaire du Kazakhstan et de l'Ouzbékistan, elle se produit généralement avec son conjoint Azamat Abdurakhmanov. Le couple a donné de nombreux spectacles et a sorti le disque Laïra en duo. Depuis que Nassima Shavaeva s'est installée en France en 2016, elle cherche à développer son répertoire en collaborant avec différents musiciens comme Elie Maalouf ou Wael Alkak.

Aram Ikram Taştekin (né en 1988 au Kurdistan turc) est auteur dramatique et acteur. Il a étudié le théâtre et l'art-thérapie et se spécialise aujourd'hui dans l'enseignement du théâtre aux enfants, en plus d'être un acteur de théâtre, de cinéma et de télévision. En 2016, il a été directeur des affaires culturelles de la ville de Lice (Turquie) avant de fuir en France où il a obtenu l'asile politique en 2017. Il a poursuivi ses études à l'université Paris 8 et à l'INALCO et a assisté Peter Brook et Marie-Hélène Estienne sur la pièce Why. Il est membre de l'agence des artistes en exil depuis 2017.

Abdulmajeed Haydar (1960, Syrie) est un scénariste palestinien originaire de Syrie. Il a écrit des scénarios pour plusieurs séries télévisées ainsi que pour des courts et longs métrages. Il a organisé une soirée littéraire et cinématographique dans un camp de réfugiés palestiniens en Syrie en 1987, et a écrit des séries basées sur le théâtre interactif qui ont été perçues comme étant anti-régime avant d'être censurées et mises sur liste noire. Il a mis en scène TKHAREEF au Théâtre national de Damas (2000), a collaboré avec Liwaa Yazji sur le documentaire Haunted (2014) et a écrit La fenêtre (2018), qui a été jouée à Paris avec le soutien de l'agence des artistes en exil.