CONVERSATIONS ON NOT BEING THERE … YET
on rethinking and creating safer spaces in nightlife w/ Mothers & Daughters
online conversations
WE 24.02 19:00

Several collectives active in building community through nightlife come together to discuss and rethink the creation and maintenance of safer nightlife spaces.

 

Especially for marginalised communities, nightlife offers the freedom to express oneself and a way to escape an oppressive world. What are the obstacles impeding access to the physical spaces – permanent or not – used for community building? How urgent is the need for such nightlife community spaces in Brussels? What can we learn from places like London, Berlin or Amsterdam, which seem way ahead of us in this regard? Is it possible for community builders to work in a safer way with these venues and institutions, even when their leadership does not reflect these communities?

With Amari Bouzin (ROYALE), Maha Youssef (Sehaq Queer Refugees Group Amsterdam) and Marie Scheins & Claire Shybusa (Naast Monique)

 

Join the talk live on this website or watch it later.

 

The conversation will be in English and moderated by Marnie Slater from Mothers & Daughters

 

Mothers & Daughters - A Lesbian* and Trans* Bar*, a collective project and community space in Brussels by and for lesbian and trans people, and their friends and allies. The project focuses on creating safer spaces for learning, celebration, political solidarity and representation from an intersectional queer and feminist perspective. 
mothersanddaughters.be
instagram.com/mothersanddaughtersbar

Marnie Slater is a New Zealand-born and Brussels-based visual artist who Marnie’s art-making and long-term collaborations are led by queer and feminist politics and desires. She is part of the All the Cunning Stunts, co-curator of Buenos Tiempos, Int. and a team member of Mothers & Daughters – A LesBIan* and Trans* Bar*. Marnie is currently teaching on the AdMa program at St Lucas School of Art, Antwerp, where she is also undertaking a year-long research project on process tools for queer and feminist art making.
instagram.com/marnie_jane_slater

Amari Bouzin is an artist but also a non-binary model, represented in Paris and Milan. They’re known as an experimental DJ, deconstructing club's music narrative with spiritual sounds. But most of their recent work is around Black and Queer sensualities, creating innovative spaces around that topic.
instagram.com/amariskingdom

ROYALE dives into the Art World with visual art, sound and performance questioning institutionalized spaces around Queerness, Blackness and sensualities. 
instagram.com/___royale___queers

Sehaq Queer Refugees Group is a refugee-led collective that raises awareness, hosts community events, and creates safer spaces for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans* and queer (LGBTQ) asylum seekers, refugees and undocumented people in the Netherlands, and which centers the experiences of refugees from the MENA regions. Sehaq means “dykeness” in Arabic, a reclaimed slur used to insult lesbians. Adopting a leftist feminist approach to politics, Sehaq also aspires to create solidarity networks between the Dutch-based queer and trans refugee/diaspora community and the (activist) communities in the global South/MENA.
instagram.com/sehaqnl

Naast Monique  is a Queer space collectively organized and located in Anderlecht. They host and set up projects run for and by womxn, trans, bi, fags, dykes, queers, sex-workers, etc. Amongst other activities Naast Monique offers a library, a bar, a cine club and soon a bike atelier.
http://www.naastmonique.pink

CONVERSATIONS ON NOT BEING THERE … YET
on rethinking and creating safer spaces in nightlife w/ Mothers & Daughters
online conversations
WE 24.02 19:00

Des collectifs actifs dans l'engagement communautaire au sein de la nightlife se réunissent pour discuter et penser aux manières de créer et maintenir des espaces plus safe dans la nuit.

Pour les communautés marginalisées en particulier, la vie nocturne offre un échappatoire à un milieu oppressif et la possibilité de s'exprimer librement. Quels sont les obstacles qui empêchent l'accès aux espaces (permanents ou éphémères) où se forment ces communautés ? Quelle est l'urgence de ces espaces communautaires nocturnes à Bruxelles ? Que pouvons-nous apprendre de villes comme Londres, Berlin ou Amsterdam, qui semblent bien en avance sur nous à cet égard ? Est-il possible pour les communautés de travailler de manière plus safe avec des institutions, malgré le manque de représentation au sein de leur direction ? Si oui, comment ?

Avec Amari Bouzin (ROYALE), Maha Youssef (Sehaq Queer Refugees Group Amsterdam) et Marie Scheins & Claire Shybusa (Naast Monique)

 

Suivez la discussion en direct sur ce site ou revoyez-la ultérieurement.

 

La discussion se déroule en anglais et sera modérée par Marnie Slater de Mothers & Daughters

Mothers & Daughters - Un bar pour lesbiennes* et trans* est un espace communautaire à Bruxelles organisé collectivement par et pour les lesbiennes et les trans, leurs ami·e·s et leurs allié·e·s. Le projet vise la création d'espaces plus safe pour l'apprentissage, la célébration, la solidarité politique et la représentation dans une perspective intersectionnelle queer et féministe.
mothersanddaughters.be
instagram.com/mothersanddaughtersbar

Marnie Slater est une artiste visuelle née en Nouvelle-Zélande et basée à Bruxelles. Sa création artistique et ses collaborations à long terme sont guidées par des politiques et des désirs queer et féministes. Elle fait partie de All the Cunning Stunts, est co-commissaire de Buenos Tiempos, Int. et membre de l'équipe de Mothers & Daughters - A LesBIan* et Trans* Bar*. Marnie enseigne actuellement à l'école d'art St Lucas d'Anvers dans le cadre du programme AdMa, où elle mène également un projet de recherche sur les processus de création artistique queer et féministe.
instagram.com/marnie_jane_slater

Amari Bouzin est artiste et mannequin non binaire, notamment à Paris et à Milan. En tant que DJ, ses expérimentations déconstruisent la narration de la musique club avec des accents spirituels. Ses travaux récents tournent autour des sensualités Black et Queer, en créant des espaces innovants sur ce thème.
instagram.com/amariskingdom

ROYALE plonge dans le monde de l'art avec du son, de la performance et des arts visuels pour questionner les espaces institutionnalisés liés aux sensualités et aux concepts de Queerness et de Blackness.
instagram.com/___royale___queers

Le Sehaq Queer Refugees Group est un collectif dirigé par des réfugié·e·s pour la sensibilisation, l'organisation d'événements communautaires et la création d'espaces plus safe pour les réfugié·e·s et les sans-papiers lesbiennes, gays, bisexuels, trans* et queer (LGBTQ) aux Pays-Bas. Le groupe concentre les expériences des réfugié·e·s des régions MENA. Sehaq signifie "gouine" en arabe, une insulte à l'encontre des lesbiennes que le groupe s'est réapproprié. Adoptant une approche féministe de gauche, Sehaq aspire également à créer des réseaux de solidarité entre la communauté des réfugié·e·s/diasporas queer et trans basée aux Pays-Bas et les communautés (activistes) du Sud/MENA.
instagram.com/sehaqnl

Naast Monique est un espace Queer autogéré situé à Anderlecht. L'espace accueille et soutient des projets menés par et pour les femmes, les trans, les bi, les pédés, les gouines, les queers, les travailleurs du sexe, etc. Naast Monique propose, entre autres, une bibliothèque, un bar, un ciné-club et bientôt un atelier de vélo.
https://www.naastmonique.pink