Writing as a gesture of love Reading on writing
reading group
SA 12.10.2019 16:00

A collective reading session of extracts of texts on the act of writing: the urge to write, the love of writing, the self-doubt or confidence aroused in expressing oneself. w/ Rebecca Jane Arthur & Eva Giolo  

'Writing is saying to no one and to everyone the things it is not possible to say to someone.'  — Rebecca Solnit

As part of Conversation #4, artists Rebecca Jane Arthur and Eva Giolo welcome you to participate in a collective reading session of extracts of texts on the act of writing.: the urge to write, the love of writing, the self-doubt or confidence aroused in expressing oneself. Rebecca and Eva are inspired by texts from Marguerite Duras, Eileen Myles, Ariana Reines, Susan Sontag, Gertrude Stein, Virginia Woolf, and more, and invite you to bring along your own inspirations: a paragraph, poem, or some lines on writing by someone who inspires you or writing of your own. They will share some lines from their process of writing together on moving image creation. This group reading moment is about making time together to share references and reflect on the creation process, with all its struggles and playfulness. The conversation will be bilingual (ENG/FR)

After the reading session and the dinner, all participants are welcome to join us at Rile bookshop for the joint launch of My Mother Laughs and the new edition of Another Gaze: A Feminist Film Journal, respectively translated and edited by Daniella Shreir. More here

PROGRAMME

16:00 -18:00 Reading on writing: group reading session
18:00 - 19:00 Dinner hosted by Beursschouwburg
20:00 - 23:00 Join us at Rile bookshop for the join launch of 'My Mother Laughs' and the new edition of Another Gaze: A Feminist Film Journal

Conversation #4: Over the course of a year, two artists-in-residence (at the Ateliers de Cinéma of GSARA and the production studio of the CVB) focus on writing and developing a documentary film. Together in correspondence, they write to each other about moving image, the themes of their work, and the process of creation. The writing will be formed into a publication. This is already the fourth edition of this artistic correspondence, which consists of three public events in 2019 in collaboration with Beursschouwburg, bringing together the filmmakers Rebecca Jane Arthur and Eva Giolo.

Écrire, un geste d'amour Reading on writing
reading group
SA 12.10.2019 16:00

A collective reading session of extracts of texts on the act of writing: the urge to write, the love of writing, the self-doubt or confidence aroused in expressing oneself. w/ Rebecca Jane Arthur & Eva Giolo  

Dans le cadre de Conversation n ° 4, les artistes Rebecca Jane Arthur et Eva Giolo vous invitent à participer à une session de lecture collective d'extraits de textes sur l'acte d’écrire: l'envie d'écrire, l'amour de l'écriture, le doute. Rebecca et Eva s’inspirent de textes de Marguerite Duras, d’Eileen Myles, d’Ariana Reines, de Susan Sontag, de Gertrude Stein et de Virginia Woolf, et vous invitent à apporter vos propres inspirations: un paragraphe, un poème ou quelques lignes qui vous  inspirent ou écrient par vous-même. Elles partageront quelques lignes de leur processus d’écriture sur la création d’images en mouvement. Ce moment de lecture commune consiste à prendre le temps. Un temps ensemble pour partager des références et réfléchir sur le processus de création, avec son jeu et toutes ses difficultés. La conversation sera bilingue (ANG/FR)

Après la lecture et le dîner, tous les participants sont invités à nous rejoindre à la librairie Rile pour le lancement conjoint de Ma mère rit et de la nouvelle édition de Another Gaze: A Film Film Journal, respectivement traduites et éditées par Daniella Shreir. Plus d’informations

PROGRAMME

16:00 -18:00 Lecture écrite: lecture en groupe
18:00 -19:00 Dîner offert par le Beursschouwburg
20:00 -23:00 Rejoignez-nous à la librairie Rile pour le lancement conjoint de Ma mère rit et de la nouvelle édition de Another Gaze: un journal de film féministe

Conversation n ° 4: Sur la base d’un échange de lettres, deux artistes en residence, Rebecca Jane Arthur et Eva Giolo (à l’Atelier Cinéma du GSARA et au studio de production du CVB) se consacrent pendant un an à l’écriture et à l’élaboration d’un film documentaire. Partant de la question générique « Qu’est-ce que faire du cinéma? », Rebecca Jane Arthur et Eva Giolo proposent une conversation intitulée Like a woman. Ensemble, elles échangent des correspondances sur l'image en mouvement, les thèmes de leur travail et le processus de création. Cette Conversation artistique en est à sa quatrième édition et donnera lieu à trois événements portes ouvertes et à une publication en collaboration avec Beursschouwburg en 2019.