Nora Chipaumire Portrait as myself as my father
dance
FR 16.02.2018 20:30
SA 17.02.2018 20:30

A postcolonial boxing match. One thing remains clear: in this battle, no one can get away from their own skin.

Nora Chipaumire lost her father as a child and was subsequently raised by women. In Portrait of Myself As My Father, she thinks up an image of her father: an idealistic and idealizing, utopian reconstruction that takes place within the confines of a boxing ring. She attributes all the characteristics to her father that she presumes a black man should have. ‘I wanted the most masculine, physical language possible, language of male spaces—or arenas—in which black men dominate.’

In Portrait of Myself As My Father, Chipaumire both celebrates and criticizes male presence and representation. The dancers in the boxing ring balance between a fight and a game, use stereotyped characteristics of black maleness and reveal a man who also embodies all men.

This choreographer and dancer looks at the African man through the lens of cultural traditions, through tradition versus modernity, colonialism, Christianity and a freedom struggle. She meticulously unravels how these themes influence African families and society at large.

Portrait of Myself As My Father is performed by Nora Chipaumire, who was born in Zimbabwe, Senegalese dancer Kaolack and Jamaican dancer Shamar Watt.

 

duration: 60 min

COMING UP
On navigating nightlife and festivals as Black people
w/ Black History Month
WE 03.03 19:00
 


Nora Chipaumire Portrait as myself as my father
danse
FR 16.02.2018 20:30
SA 17.02.2018 20:30

Ayant perdu son père durant son enfance, Nora Chipaumire a ensuite été élevée par des femmes. Dans Portrait of myself as my father, elle imagine son image : une (re)construction idéaliste, idéalisante et utopique qui se déroule sur un ring de boxe. Elle dote son père de tous les attributs qui, selon elle, appartiennent aux hommes noirs. « Je voulais le langage physique le plus masculin possible, le langage des espaces — ou des arènes — masculins dans lesquels les hommes noirs dominent. »

Dans Portrait of myself as my father, Chipaumire célèbre et critique tout à la fois la présence et la représentation masculines. Les danseurs du ring oscillent entre violence et jeu, exploitent des caractéristiques stéréotypées de la masculinité noire et montrent un homme qui incarne tous les hommes en même temps.

La chorégraphe et danseuse présente l’homme africain à travers le prisme des traditions culturelles : tradition contre modernité, colonialisme, christianisme et lutte pour la liberté. Une dissection minutieuse de la manière dont ces thématiques influencent les familles et la société africaines.

Portrait of myself as my father est interprétée par Chipaumire, née au Zimbabwe, le danseur sénégalais Kaolack et le danseur jamaïcain Shamar Watt.

 

durée: 60 min

You might also like: