Silke Sarens The Echo of the Bullet
film BE premiere
WE 27.10 20:30

Silke Sarens' first film accompanied by work from Maaike Neuville and Guillaume Vandenberghe & Raphael Kolacz.

DE ECHO VAN DE KOGEL (THE ECHO OF THE BULLET) Silke Sarens (BE première)
2021, 21’30” 
in Dutch, French and English subtitles

On February 23, 2013, Silke's father was murdered in Mexico. Using his last itinerary, she goes searching for him, capturing the echoes left by the bullet in the void. Her own voice tries to make visible not only his absence, but also that of a latent criminality.

Direction, camera and voice: Silke Sarens, screenplay: Rebekka De Wit and Silke Sarens, sound: Simon Halsberghe, editing: Dieter Diependaele. 

WHO?
Silke Sarens lives and works in Brussels, where she studied photography at the LUCA School of Arts. In her quest for encounters and connections, family is a recurrent subject. The Echo of the Bullet is her first film.

 

ROUWDAGBOEK (GRIEF DIARY) Maaike Neuville
2018,  15’20”
in Dutch, English subtitles 

"And I know, all my life I will be tossed back and forth between the gentle happiness of feeling your presence in all that surrounds me and the sometimes excruciatingly simple realization that I'll never be able to hold you again."

Snapshots filmed by a daughter who lost her mother. The letting go, the falling and the getting up, all silently contained in the simplicity of these autobiographical images. A film as a process of mourning.

WHO?
Maaike Neuville is a Belgian theater and film actress, filmmaker and writer. She starred in renowned Flemish TV series such as De Dag and De Twaalf and in films such as All of Us, Ghost Tropic, Goltzius and the pelican company. Since 2010 she has also been active as a film director. After completing the master year of film at Luca School of Arts (2012/2013) she made four short films, including her graduation film Sonnet 81 with which she won a VAFWildcard and the prize for the best debut at the International Short Film Festival Leuven. With the wildcard she made the short film Perfect Darkness which was praised at numerous international short film festivals. She is currently preparing a mini-series, Is a woman, which she wrote herself and will also direct. She is also working on her first feature film.

 

L’ÂME EST VAGABONDE  Guillaume Vandenberghe & Raphael Kolacz
2009,  9’30”

On June 29, 2009, the painter Philippe Vandenberg decided to take his own life. He was in his apartment in Brussels. His son goes back...

Direction and production: Guillaume Vandenberghe & Raphael Kolacz, camera: Guillaume Vandenberghe and Raphaël Kolacz, editing: Effi Weiss, sound: Marco Saez Martinez, music: Thomas Smetryns.

WHO?
Guillaume Vandenberghe lives and works in Brussels. His previous documentaries include Cinéma Inch'allah ! (2012) and Rien n'est pardonné (2017). L'âme est vagabonde is the last short film in the trilogy Trois Lettres about his father, the painter Philippe Vandenberg, which he co-directed with Raphael Kolacz.

Silke Sarens L’écho de la Balle
film BE premiere
WE 27.10 20:30

Silke Sarens' first film accompanied by work from Maaike Neuville and Guillaume Vandenberghe & Raphael Kolacz.

DE ECHO VAN DE KOGEL  Silke Sarens (BE première)
2021, 21’30” 
en néerlandais, sous-titré en français et anglais 

Le 23 février 2013, le père de Silke est assassiné au Mexique. À l'aide de son dernier itinéraire, elle part à sa recherche en captant les échos laissés par la balle dans le vide. Sa propre voix tente de rendre visible non seulement son absence, mais aussi celle d'une criminalité latente.

Silke Sarens vit et travaille à Bruxelles, où elle a étudié la photographie à LUCA School of Arts. Dans sa quête de rencontres et de liens, la famille est un sujet récurrent. L'écho de la balle est son premier film.

ROUWDAGBOEK (JOURNAL DE DEUIL) Maaike Neuville
2018,  15’20”
en Néerlandais, sous-titré en anglais

"Et je sais que, toute ma vie, je serai ballottée entre le doux bonheur de sentir ta présence dans tout ce qui m'entoure et la réalisation parfois atrocement simple que je ne pourrai plus jamais te tenir dans mes bras."

Des instants filmés par une fille qui a perdu sa mère. Le lâcher prise, la chute et le relèvement, tous contenus silencieusement dans la simplicité de ces images autobiographiques. Un film comme processus de deuil.

Maaike Neuville est une actrice de théâtre et de cinéma, une cinéaste et une écrivaine belge. Elle a joué dans de célèbres séries télévisées flamandes telles que De Dag et De Twaalf et dans des films tels que All of Us, Ghost Tropic, Goltzius et the pelican company. Depuis 2010, elle est également active en tant que réalisatrice de films. Après avoir terminé l'année de master en cinéma à la Luca School of Arts (2012/2013), elle a réalisé quatre courts métrages, dont son film de fin d'études Sonnet 81 avec lequel elle a remporté une VAFWildcard et le prix du meilleur premier film au Festival international du court métrage de Louvain. Avec cette wildcard, elle a réalisé le court métrage Perfect Darkness, qui a été salué dans de nombreux festivals internationaux de courts métrages. Elle prépare actuellement une mini-série, Is a woman, qu'elle a écrite et qu'elle réalisera elle-même. Elle travaille également sur son premier long métrage.

 

 

L’ÂME EST VAGABONDE  Guillaume Vandenberghe & Raphaël Kolacz
2009,  9’30”

Le 29 juin 2009, le peintre Philippe Vandenberg a décidé de mettre fin à ses jours. Il était dans son appartement à Bruxelles. Son fils y retourne…

Direction and production: Guillaume Vandenberghe, camera: Guillaume Vandenberghe and Raphaël Kolacz, editing: Effi Weiss, sound: Marco Saez Martinez, music: Thomas Smetryns.

Guillaume Vandenberghe vit et travaille à Bruxelles. Ses précédents documentaires sont Cinéma Inch'allah ! (2012) et Rien n'est pardonné (2017). L'âme est vagabonde est le dernier court-métrage de la trilogie Trois Lettres sur son père, le peintre Philippe Vandenberg, qu'il a co-réalisé avec Raphael Kolacz.