BLACK BOX
TOBIAS ZIELONY Maskirovka
looped screening
TH 27.09.2018 12:00 - 22:00
FR 28.09.2018 12:00 - 22:00
SA 29.09.2018 12:00 - 22:00

A flickering frenzy of street protesters and soldiers on Maidan Square morphing into the queer and techno underground scene in Kiev.

In this stop-motion animation, two pulsing sets of images of street protesters, soldiers and young clubbers perform a fervent dance. One thing connects them: the masks they use to hide their identities, or to become entirely new people. 

Tobias Zielony uses the term maskirovka, Russian for ‘disguise’, which has re-emerged to describe the 'masked’ Russian interventions in Crimea and Eastern Ukraine, where so-called ‘green men’ occupy Ukrainian territory. Masks also played a crucial role for the Maidan protestors, protecting them from tear gas and concealing their identities. The term refers to the treacherous, vulnerable conditions under which the protesters live and act.

Zielony’s deliberate montage of two intertwined processions of images wilfully transgresses the normal limits of documentary film. He constructs meaning and storyline from frame to frame, scene to scene. The resulting hypnotic effect recalls the stroboscopic lights of the underground clubs and raves in which Maskirovka is set.

 

DE, 2017, 9’, silent, in loop.

BLACK BOX
TOBIAS ZIELONY Maskirovka
looped screening
TH 27.09.2018 12:00 - 22:00
FR 28.09.2018 12:00 - 22:00
SA 29.09.2018 12:00 - 22:00

Des séries d’images scintillantes de militants et de soldats sur la place de l’Indépendance, qui débordent sur la scène underground queer et techno de Kiev.

Dans cette animation en stop motion, deux séries d’images étincelantes de manifestants, de soldats et de jeunes qui font la fête exécutent une danse endiablée. Une seule chose les relie : les masques avec lesquels ils camouflent leur identité ou deviennent une tout autre personne. 

Le réalisateur Zielony utilise le terme maskirovka, 'déguisement' en russe. Ce concept est réapparu récemment pour décrire l’intervention russe masquée en Crimée et dans l’est de l’Ukraine (où des hommes verts occupent le territoire ukrainien). Par ailleurs, les masques ont joué un rôle primordial dans la protection des manifestants de la place de l’Indépendance contre les gaz lacrymogènes ainsi que dans la dissimulation de leur identité. Le terme renvoie à la situation vulnérable et insidieuse dans laquelle ces protagonistes vivent et agissent.

À travers le montage délibéré de deux séries d’images disparates, Zielony dépasse à dessein les limites du film documentaire. Le sens et la trame narrative sont construits image par image, scène par scène. Les résultats évoquent les effets stroboscopiques des clubs et des raves underground où Maskirovka se déroule.

 

DE, 2017, 9’, silent, in loop.

You might also like: