BLACK BOX
Pauline Boudry & Renate Lorenz To Valerie Solanas and Marilyn Monroe in Recognition of their Desperation
looped screening
WE 19.11.2014 12:00 - 22:00 BE premiere
FR 21.11.2014 12:00 - 22:00
TH 20.11.2014 12:00 - 22:00
SA 22.11.2014 12:00 - 22:00

Pauline Boudry and Renate Lorenz were guests in 2013 during Make Up, a focus programme about Antonia Baehr’s work. Since 2014 they’ve been working steadily on a video oeuvre that addresses complex themes like history, “queerness”, and feminism. They record on 16 mm and then convert to HD, which imbues their work with a timeless quality.

In their latest video they make a new version of a piece of sound work by Pauline Oliveros, which she made in 1970. Oliveros was inspired by the feministic and egalitarian SCUM Manifesto (Society for Cutting Up Men) by Valerie Solanas and put together an experimental music piece based on long modulated and unmodulated tones. Five performers each give their own interpretation to the tones and are invited to imitate each other.

Boudry and Lorenz introduce the camera as an additional performer, who in a single smooth take puts both the individual performers and the group conduct in the spotlight and thus transform Oliveros’ original work into a contemporary version which questions power relations.

In English

18min. (start every 30’)

Production: Pauline Boudry & Renate Lorenz, 2013 Thanks: Ellen de Bruijne Projects

BLACK BOX
Pauline Boudry & Renate Lorenz To Valerie Solanas and Marilyn Monroe in Recognition of their Desperation
looped screening
WE 19.11.2014 12:00 - 22:00 première BE
FR 21.11.2014 12:00 - 22:00
TH 20.11.2014 12:00 - 22:00
SA 22.11.2014 12:00 - 22:00

Pauline Boudry et Renate Lorenz étaient en 2013 les invitées de Make Up, une émission thématique autour de l'œuvre d'Antonia Baehr. Elles travaillent depuis 2004 à une œuvre vidéo abordant des thèmes aussi complexes que l'histoire, les queers et le féminisme. Elles ont réalisé leurs enregistrements en 16 mm afin de les convertir en haute définition dans un deuxième temps, ce qui confère à leur travail une qualité intemporelle.

Dans leur dernière vidéo, elles ont réalisé une nouvelle version d'une œuvre sonore de Pauline Oliveros de 1970. Oliveros s'était inspirée du manifeste féministe et égalitaire SCUM (Society for Cutting Up Men) de Valerie Solanas et composa un morceau de musique expérimentale à base de longues tonalités modulées et non modulées. Cinq acteurs nous donnent leur interprétation personnelle des tonalités et sont invités à s'imiter mutuellement.

Boudry et Lorenz nous présentent la caméra comme un artiste additionnel mettant les acteurs individuels et les comportements du groupe sous les feux de la rampe en une seule prise. L'œuvre originale d'Oliveros se voit ainsi transformée en version contemporaine s'interrogeant sur les rapports de pouvoir.

En Anglais

18min. (début chaque 30min.)

Production: Pauline Boudry & Renate Lorenz, 2013 Merci: Ellen de Bruijne Projects