BLACK BOX
MARGARET SALMON Mm
looped screening
WE 07.11.2018 12:00 - 22:00
TH 08.11.2018 12:00 - 22:00
FR 09.11.2018 12:00 - 22:00
SA 10.11.2018 12:00 - 22:00

A feminist film about language and masculinity, featuring the Berwick Bandits, an all-male speedracing team.

Mm is a feminist, linguistic investigation, a learning tool for children, and a celebration of motor sports. A voice-over of words and associations narrates 35mm verité footage of the Berwick Bandits, an all-male speedway motorcycle team whose mantra is, ‘No Brakes, No Gears, No Fear’.

In a kaleidoscopic documentation of spectators, riders, races and bikes, the British-American director Margaret Salmon searches for possible meanings of the letter M. She seeks out many words it forms, investigating and questioning what those words signify: masculine, motorbike, man, manufactured, manipulated, maintained, marginalized, mandatory, mighty... 

Margaret Salmon made the film with the collaboration of the Berwick Bandits. She combined the explosive speedway sounds with an exploratory voice-over and a soundtrack by the all-girl Scottish post punk band, Sacred Paws.

 

UK, 2017, 30’, English spoken, starts every 30’.

BLACK BOX
MARGARET SALMON Mm
looped screening
WE 07.11.2018 12:00 - 22:00
TH 08.11.2018 12:00 - 22:00
FR 09.11.2018 12:00 - 22:00
SA 10.11.2018 12:00 - 22:00

Un film féministe sur la langue et la masculinité qui met en vedette l’équipe de speedway — exclusivement masculine — The Berwick Bandits.

Mm est à la fois une analyse linguistique féministe, un soutien scolaire pour enfants et une ode au motocyclisme. Au travers de mots et d’associations, une voix off raconte le récit, calqué sur des images-vérité tournées en 35 mm, des Berwick Bandits, une équipe de speedway exclusivement composée d’hommes dont la devise est « No Brakes, No Gears, No Fear ».

Au travers d’images kaléidoscopiques de spectateurs, de motards, de courses et de motos, la réalisatrice américano-britannique Margaret Salmon explore les significations potentielles de la lettre M, qui produit une multitude de mots dont elle analyse et conteste le sens. Masculin, moto, manipulation, marginal, massif... 

Dans son film réalisé en collaboration avec les Berwick Bandits, Margaret Salmon associe les sons explosifs des speedways à un commentaire analytique teinté de poésie sur une bande originale du groupe post-punk écossais Sacred Paws, exclusivement féminin, cette fois.

 

UK, 2017, 30’, en anglais, commence toutes les 30'.