BLACK BOX
Jenny Brady Bone
looped screening
WE 17.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
TH 18.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
FR 19.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
SA 20.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
WE 24.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
TH 25.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
FR 26.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
SA 27.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
WE 17.02.2016 20:00 introduction

Visual artist Jenny Brady (IR) uses the moving image to investigate our ideas about speech, language and the nature of communication. Her intriguing Bone is the third video in her series on language amongst nonhuman subjects.

We see the labrador Sally assume a series of poses as a model in a photography studio. As the camera records the scene on the set, which is both amusing and surprising (full of complex power relationships), we hear offscreen conversations amongst the men in the crew. Thanks to these exchanges, ‘the animal’ unexpectedly takes on attributes of ‘the woman’.

The soundtrack, as well as the visual images, also speaks to our imagination. Musician Andrew Fogarty interweaves human and animal-like voices with field recordings, electronics and found material. As a result, as the distinctions between species of animal, humans and gender all become blurred. So too does the function of language: is our language a means of communication or a tool of power?

This remarkable combination of human language and animal behaviour may be putting mankind in front of the camera, more than its labrador protagonist. This is a video to challenge anyone hoping to sink their teeth into an inextricable tangle of meanings!

10’49”
EN spoken

► On Wednesday February 17th at 8 pm, we organise a collective viewing moment. We introduce the film and provide food. Feet under the table, eyes on the screen.

http://jennifer-brady.com

BLACK BOX
Jenny Brady Bone
looped screening
WE 17.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
TH 18.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
FR 19.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
SA 20.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
WE 24.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
TH 25.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
FR 26.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
SA 27.02.2016 12:00 - 22:00
WE 17.02.2016 20:00 introduction

Artiste visuelle, Jenny Brady (IR) utilise des images en mouvement afin d’explorer nos idées sur la parole, la langue et la nature de la communication. Objet des plus intrigants, Bone est la troisième vidéo de sa série sur la langue chez les sujets non humains.

Elle nous donne à voir Sally, un labrador, prendre différentes poses, comme un modèle lors d’une séance photo. Tandis que, sur le plateau, la caméra enregistre ce spectacle à la fois drôle et étonnant (empreint de rapports de force complexes), on entend des conversations hors champ entre les hommes de l’équipe de tournage, dont se dégagent des analogies inattendues entre « l’animal » et « la femme ».

Outre les images, la bande-son frappe également l’imagination. Le musicien Andrew Fogarty entremêle des voix humaines et animales et des enregistrements de terrain, des nappes électroniques et des extraits sonores glânés. Ainsi, Jenny Brady brouille les frontières entre animalité, humanité et genre tout en s’interrogeant sur la fonction du langage : s’agit-il d’un moyen de communication ou d’un outil de puissance ?

Peut-être que cette combinaison remarquable de langage humain et de comportement animal place moins le labrador que l’humain devant la caméra. Une vidéo audacieuse qui ravira tous ceux qui aiment être pris dans un écheveau inextricable de significations.

10’49”
EN spoken

► Mercredi 17 feb à 20 h 00, nous organisons un moment de spectacle collectif. Nous introduisons le film et nous nous occupons de la nourriture. Les pieds sous la table, le regard sur l’écran.

http://jennifer-brady.com

You might also like: