BLACK BOX
Emanuel Almborg The Majority Never Has Right On Its Side
looped screening
WE 26.10.2016 12:00 - 22:00
TH 27.10.2016 12:00 - 22:00
FR 28.10.2016 12:00 - 22:00
SA 29.10.2016 12:00 - 22:00
WE 02.11.2016 12:00 - 22:00
TH 03.11.2016 12:00 - 22:00
FR 04.11.2016 12:00 - 22:00
SA 05.11.2016 12:00 - 22:00

In The Majority Never has Right on its Side, the Swedish artist Emanuel Almborg brings Summerhill - a utopisch altruistic school concept - into relation to the image that has been created of this particular school down through its history. Almborg dives into the school's visual history and investigates what can be described as the 'utopisch image'. How is this image constructed? What are its potential pitfalls?

It is a school where every pupil can individually decide when playtime begins and ends, a school that believes in every child's fundamental goodness and desire to learn. It holds personal development far higher than academic performance, is a school in which each voice is democratic and weighs in equally with all the others, be it that of a six-year-old or school director. It seems utopian, but these are the fundamental educational principles of Summerhill School, an English anti-authoritarian school founded in 1921 by writer and educator A.S. Neill.

In The Majority Never has Right on its Side, the Swedish artist Emanuel Almborg brings Summerhill today – nearly a century after it was founded – into relation to the image that has been created of the school down through its history. Almborg dives into the school's visual history and investigates what can be described as the 'utopic image'. How is this image constructed? What are its potential pitfalls?

By bringing images from the past together with images from today, the viewer has a new, more subtly nuanced insight into the so-called ‘free school’. Where does the freedom of the individual begin and end within a community, and are there downsides to this democratic coin?


EN spoken
SE, 2013, 40 min

Collective Screening Session with an introduction and delicious finger food: 26/10/2016 at 20:00

http://sakerna.se/emanuel/about/

BLACK BOX
Emanuel Almborg The Majority Never Has Right On Its Side
looped screening
WE 26.10.2016 12:00 - 22:00
TH 27.10.2016 12:00 - 22:00
FR 28.10.2016 12:00 - 22:00
SA 29.10.2016 12:00 - 22:00
WE 02.11.2016 12:00 - 22:00
TH 03.11.2016 12:00 - 22:00
FR 04.11.2016 12:00 - 22:00
SA 05.11.2016 12:00 - 22:00

Avec The Majority Never Has Right On Its Side, l’artiste suédois Emanuel Almborg met Summerhill — un concept scolaire idealistique — en rapport avec l’image qui a été façonnée tout au long de son histoire. Emanuel Almborg plonge dans l’histoire visuelle de l’école et analyse ce qui peut être qualifié d’« image utopique ». Comment est-elle construite ? Quels sont les pièges possibles ?

Imaginez une école où chaque élève décide individuellement du début et de la fin de la récréation et qui croit dans la bonté et dans la curiosité inhérentes à chaque enfant. Une école qui privilégie nettement le développement personnel aux prestations académiques. Une école où chaque voix a le même poids, de manière démocratique et égalitaire, que ce soit celle d’un enfant de six ans ou du directeur. Un tel établissement peut sembler utopique, mais il s’agit là des principes pédagogiques de base de la Summerhill School, une école anglaise anti-autoritaire fondée en 1921 par l’écrivain et le pédagogue A.S. Neil.

Avec The Majority Never Has Right On Its Side, l’artiste suédois Emanuel Almborg met Summerhill — près de cent ans après sa création — en rapport avec l’image qui a été façonnée tout au long de son histoire. Emanuel Almborg plonge dans l’histoire visuelle de l’école et analyse ce qui peut être qualifié d’« image utopique ». Comment est-elle construite ? Quels sont les pièges possibles ?

À travers une mise en commun d’images du présent et du passé, le spectateur porte un regard neuf et nuancé sur l’autoproclamée « école libre ». Où commence et où s’arrête la liberté de l’individu au sein d’une « communauté » ? Et les médailles démocratiques ont-elles aussi leur revers ?


EN spoken
SE, 2013, 40 min

Collective Screening Session with an introduction and delicious finger food: 26/10/2016 at 20:00

http://sakerna.se/emanuel/about/