B-SWAP: An Artistic Identity Swap by Beursschouwburg & Les Brigittines

Read more

The other side? Yes! We mean the Dutch-speaking side. Or the French-speaking side. Depending on which way you look at it … ;) Beursschouwburg and Les Brigittines are just over one kilometre removed from each other and represent a different trail, at least theoretically: the Dutch-speaking and French-speaking. Is there an artistic language barrier as such? Does art on the other side of the border look the same? We are going out to investigate and taking our public with us! How easy is it to find the way to ‘the other’?

And that’s why we’re swapping houses. For a few days, Beursschouwburg, including mice, artists and kitchen sink, will be moving to Les Brigittines. And vice versa. What if we answer the phone in Ortsstraat with: “Bonjour, Les Brigittines”, or with “Met Beursschouwburg, goeiemorgen” in Kleine Brigittinestraat?

So if you need us, we’ll be elsewhere. With a fantastic artistic programme and … a game. We’re inviting all the people from Brussels and the Brussels organisations, authorities, companies,… to trade me, swap me and share me to your hearts’ content. The brief? Take someone else’s place for a change: your neighbour, your partner or your fellow-manager at another establishment.

The confrontation with ‘the other’ is an enriching experience, come what may, and makes you question your identity. B-swap for life!

B-SWAP: An Artistic Identity Swap by Beursschouwburg & Les Brigittines

Read more

De l’autre côté ? Oui ! Nous parlons du côté néerlandophone. Ou du côté francophone, c’est selon où vous vous trouvez... ;-). Beursschouwburg et Les Brigittines sont éloignés entre eux d’un bon kilomètre et ils représentent (en théorie) chacun un autre circuit : le néerlandophone et le francophone. Pouvons-nous parler ici d’une frontière linguistique artistique ? L’art adopte-t-il un aspect différent de l’autre côté de la frontière ? Nous menons l’enquête et entraînons notre public avec nous ! Sera-ce difficile de trouver le chemin vers ‘l’autre’ ?

Et voilà pourquoi nous échangerons nos maisons. Quelques jours durant Beursschouwburg transférera ses cliques, ses claques et ses artistes à la maison de Les Brigittines. Et vice versa. Que se passera-t-il lorsque, rue Orts nous répondrons au téléphone avec les mots : “Bonjour, Les Brigittines”, alors qu’à la petite rue des Brigitinnes on entendra “Met Beursschouwburg, goeiemorgen” ?

Donc si vous nous cherchez : allez voir ailleurs si nous y sommes. Avec un fantastique programme artistique et avec ... un jeu. Nous invitons tous les Bruxellois et les organisations, instances, entreprises,... bruxelloises à participer à l’échange, au partage, et à ‘swapper’ à fond la caisse. La mission ? Prenez pour une fois la place de l’autre : de votre voisin, partenaire ou collègue-directeur dans une autre instance..

La confrontation avec ‘l’autre’ est de toute façon une expérience enrichissante qui vous force à remettre en question votre propre identité. B-swap for life !