Mallika Taneja Allegedly
performance
27 NOV — 29 NOV

Sparking conversations at the intersection of law, sexual violence and justice.

Built as an ongoing negotiation with understanding questions of consent, Allegedly seeks to spark conversations at the intersection of law, sexual violence and justice. Using personal stories, experiences and musings, the piece asks questions about the systems that govern us and the semantics that carry out that governance. An ‘ongoing discussion’ — a work forever in progress, it establishes an active and dynamic relationship between the performers and audience, opening up the contradictions, confusions and irregularities of our own behaviour through audience responses and interactions—in looking, responding, answering and often in choosing not to answer. Through engaging the audience in questions and negotiations, the piece seeks to implicate their thoughts and decisions in the direction the play takes, trying to ‘make sense of it all’. Or at least the closest we can get to! 

BIO 

Mallika Taneja is a Delhi-based theatre artist. Her most recent works include Zanana ka Zamana (Time of the Femme) - built during the country-wide anti CAA movement,  Aksar, Yunhi.. Mehsoos Hota Hai (Often, sometimes…It feels like this) — a reflection on mental health and the mundane; and Allegedly — dealing with questions of justice and sexual violence. Her piece Be Careful talks about the discourse of women and ’safety’, and has toured widely internationally.  She also started interventions like Women Walk at Midnight, Sex Chat Room and an arts initiative called Lost & Found.

The piece was first commissioned by Zubaan Books, an independent feminist publishing house, as part of their project ‘Stepping Stones’, that looked at sexual viol
ence and impunity all over India. The adapted version of Allegedly has been co-produced by Beursschouwburg Brussels, Kunstencentrum Vooruit Ghent, and Khoya Paya—Mallika Taneja’s company.

 

Performed by Mallika Taneja & Shena Gamat, Video Designer: Santana Issar, Writing Inputs: Rajesh Nirmal, Legal Advisor: Mini Saxena, The Consent Project, Production Manager: Meghna Singh Bhadauria, Project Advisor - Hansa Thapliyal, Executive Producer: Khoya Paya (Mallika Taneja)

Trigger warning: This performance deals explicitly with issues of sexual violence.

You might also like:

Mallika Taneja Allegedly
NEW NEW NEW
online live performance
SA 12.12.2020 18:00
SU 13.12.2020 18:00

Des conversations au croisement de la violence sexuelle, de la justice et de nos situations personnelles difficiles.

Élaboré comme une négociation permanente interrogeant le ‘consentement’, Allegedly (= prétendument) tente de susciter des entretiens au croisement du droit, de la violence sexuelle et de la justice. Partant d’histoires, d’expériences et de réflexions personnelles, la pièce interroge les systèmes qui nous dirigent et leur sémantique. Sous forme de ‘discussion en cours’ – une œuvre en développement permanent –, Allegedly crée un rapport actif et dynamique entre les performeuses et le public, dévoilant les contradictions, les confusions et les irrégularités de nos propres comportements à travers les réactions et les interactions du public, concrètement par les regards, les réactions, les réponses et souvent le choix de ne pas répondre à la question. À l’aide de questions et de négociations avec le public, la représentation essaie d’impliquer ses idées et ses décisions dans l’orientation que prendra la pièce dans une tentative de ‘tout comprendre’. Ou du moins le plus possible !

Trigger warning: This performance deals explicitly with issues of sexual violence.

En Anglais

90 min. 

 

Achetez d’ores et déjà votre billet. Vous recevrez un email contenant le lien Zoom. 

The first time you use Zoom? This might help:

zoomtutorialbymallikataneja.pdf

Live support during the performance: send us a dm, call, text or WhatsApp +32 456 32 76 17

 

BIOGRAPHIE

Mallika Taneja est une femme de théâtre de Delhi. Parmi ses œuvres les plus récentes, notons Zanana ka Zamana (Time of the Femme) – créé pendant le mouvement anti-CAA –, Aksar, Yunhi… Mehsos Hota Hai (Souvent, parfois… Cela se ressent comme cela) – une réflexion sur la santé mentale et le quotidien – et Allegedly (Prétendument) – sur des questions de justice et de violence sexuelle. Sa pièce Be Careful évoquant le discours de femmes sur la ‘sécurité’, a fait une grande tournée internationale. Mallika Taneja s’est aussi mise à faire des interventions comme Woman Walk at Midnight, Sex Chat Room et une initiative artistique appelée Lost & Found.
instagram.com/goodgirlfromgoodfamily

La représentation a vu le jour à la demande de Zubaan Books, une maison d’édition féministe indépendante, comme une partie de son projet Stepping Stones, visant la violence sexuelle et l’impunité dans l’Inde entière. La version adaptée d’Allegedly est une coproduction de Beursschouwburg Brussel, Kunstencentrum Vooruit Gent et la compagnie de Khoya Paya-Mallika Taneja.

 

Performed by: Shena Gamat & Mallika Taneja, with Aman Mohammadi, Anahita Sarabhai, Anomita Sen, Anurekha Deb, Bonita Rajpurohit, Deepshikha Mishra, Dipali, Drishti Chawla, Eeshta Malhotra, Gunjan Gupta, Hansa Thapliyal, Katyayini Pant, Lauren Robinson, Neelambari Bhattacharya, Ritika Singh, Rituparna Pal, Shweta Pasricha, Tanima, Thinley Chodon, Urna Chakrabarty
Design and Direction: Mallika Taneja
Production Manager: Meghna Singh Bhadauria
Production Assistant: Shreya Agarwal
Executive Producer: Khoya Paya
Scripting Associate: Rajesh Nirmal with Meghna Singh Bhadauria
Music: Ashwini Verma
Project Advisor - Hansa Thapliyal
Legal Advisor: Mini Saxena, The Consent Project
Project Intern: Sukhman Kaur
Chorus Developed with Dipali, Eeshta Malhotra, Neelambari Bhattacharya and Tanima Sharma
Design and Direction: Mallika Taneja
For video installation version of Allegedly:
Video Designer: Santana Issar